Passenger Vehicle Inspection Requirements: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois
Using data compiled from each state's governmental website, this research will synthesize the requirements for a state vehicle inspection in the states of Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, and Illinois.
DELAWARE STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
Delaware is the only state on this list that makes its biennial state vehicle inspections free to all its residents. However, Delaware also has the most comprehensive requirements for its state vehicle inspections, which consist of a safety inspection, exhaust emissions inspection, and a pressure test. Most gasoline-powered automobiles and light trucks model year 1981 and newer will receive a low and high speed (two-speed) exhaust emissions test. Gasoline-powered automobiles and light trucks 1980 model year and older will continue to receive the current (curb idle) tests. Diesel fueled vehicles model year 1996 and older are currently exempt from exhaust emissions testing but must pass safety testing for registration renewal. Diesel fueled vehicles model year 1997 and newer must pass an OBD-II test.
FLORIDA STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
Florida's state vehicle inspection requirements can be cheap or costly, depending on where in Florida you live. However, Florida residents are only required to get a vehicle inspection when they register the car for the first time. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verification is required for all USED motor vehicles not currently titled in Florida. Safety and Emissions tests are not required.
GEORGIA STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
Georgia requires a yearly state vehicle inspection, which is to be completed prior to the vehicle owner's birthday or to its prior registration date. The $25 fee covers an emissions test, if required. However, Georgia's requirements for an emissions test vary by county. An emissions test is required for the following counties: Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale County. The three most recent model years are exempt from emissions testing. Vehicles that are 25 model years or older are exempt from emissions testing. Newly purchased vehicles require a T-22B Certificate of inspection by a Georgia Law Enforcement Officer.
HAWAII STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
Hawaii has, comparatively speaking, very lenient state vehicle inspection requirements. For a $19.19-plus-tax yearly investment, Hawaii requires drivers to submit to a motor vehicle safety inspection test. However, an emissions test is not required.
IDAHO STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
Idaho, like Florida, only requires that a state vehicle inspection be conducted when a car is registered for the first time. Like Florida, as well, Idaho's fees for a state vehicle inspection vary by location, which means that it can either be costly or cheap for the driver. However, unlike Florida, Idaho requires a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection, which is to be completed by an officer of the law, DMV employee, military police officer, or Idaho licensed vehicle dealer. For out-of-state lien holders, if the vehicle and owner are in Idaho, the Vehicle Identification Number inspection can often be performed by the County Assessor’s office, Sheriff’s office, or City Police Department where the owner resides.
ILLINOIS STATE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
Illinois requires that all vehicle owners get state vehicle inspections every two years, and the fee is a reasonable $20.00. However, the Illinois state vehicle inspection requirements are quite comprehensive: most 1996 and newer gasoline-powered passenger vehicles are subject to emissions inspections after they are four years old (e.g. 2012 vehicles are being inspected in 2016 for the first time). The inspection month coincides with the expiration date of the vehicle license plate. Typically, even model-year vehicles are inspected during even years, and odd model-year vehicles are inspected in odd years. Gas Cap Test on all vehicles older than 1995 to make sure they seal properly.
Each state has different requirements for their state vehicle inspection. Consult with your state's government website to make sure you're up to date with any potential changes to the law.