While there is no publicly available information to identify the Icertis customer acquisition cost, data were available to pull together the average revenue per Icertis user ($541,667) and the company's monthly churn rate (-0.2%). Below is an outline of the research strategies used to better understand why the information requested is publicly unavailable, as well as a presentation of the findings.
AVERAGE REVENUE PER USER
- Icertis had 120 customers as of October 2018.
- Icertis serves 2 million users across its 120 customers.
- In 2018, Icertis generated revenues between $50-80 million.
- The average revenue per user is $541,667. (see calculation)
MONTHLY CHURN RATE
- The company had 100 customers as of September 2018.
- Icertis' compound annual growth rate over the past four years was 125%.
- The monthly churn rate is -0.2%. (see calculation)
Despite an extensive search, the research team could not find data related to the company's customer acquisition cost. To find this detail, we first looked for an Icertis annual report, hoping to find clues as to how much the company spent on acquiring customers; instead, we found out that Icertis is a privately owned company that did not make its financial data public. Next, the team searched for third-party databases, such as Craft and Enlyft, to see if they had data on the customer acquisition cost of Icertis. Although we found data such as the number of customers and revenue, we did not find data on the customer acquisition cost. Finally, we reviewed news and industry publications, such as TechCrunch and PR Newswire, but none provided data on the customer acquisition cost.
Average revenue per user = Revenue / User
2018 revenue = ($50,000,000 + $80,000,000) / 2 = 130 / 2 = $65,000,000
*Please note: For each of its 120 customers, Icertis likely has several thousand users on its platform due to the enterprise level of the companies it serves.
Monthly churn rate = (Users at the beginning of the month - Users at the end of the month) / Users at the beginning of the month.
*Please note: Because of the company’s growth of 125%, its churn rate is negative.