Building Permit Review Software

Part
01
of twenty
Part
01

Building Permit Review Software

Some of the biggest companies that provide building permit processing software include Sungard AS, Tyler Technologies Inc, Accela Inc, Computronix LLC, Prometheus Group, Avolve Software Corp, Azteca Systems LLC, and CityGrows Inc. The required information has been populated in the attached spreadsheet.

SUMMARY

RESEARCH STRATEGY

To find 8 of the biggest companies that provide building permit processing software, we searched through software databases such as Capterra and Sourceforge. We were able to find a list of building permit processing software and the companies behind them. To find the biggest companies, we looked up for the companies' revenue on company databases such as Zoominfo and Crunchbase. We then provided the details of the top 8 companies by revenue.
Part
02
of twenty
Part
02

Building Permit Review Software (2)

Tyler Technologies building permit processing software is known as EnerGov, while Accela Inc. building permit processing software is called Accela SaaS. Information about their number of employees, valuation, number of clients, and most prominent clients is provided in the attached spreadsheet.

Tyler Technologies

Accela Inc.

  • Name of software: Accela SaaS.
  • Number of employees: 500.
  • Valuation: N/A.
  • Number of clients: 2,000.
  • Notable clients: Ventura County, City of Oakland, Deschutes County, City of Philadelphia, Charlotte County, and District of Columbia.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

We began by searching through the company websites for information regarding their building permit processing software, number of employees, valuation, number of clients, and most prominent clients. We found most of the required information precompiled on the company websites and other business directory sites such as Crunchbase & Enlyft. Unfortunately, we found no data regarding both companies' valuation on their websites or any building permit processing software for Sungard AS.
First, we explored a range of trusted media sources, news articles & publications, and business directories, which include ZoomInfo, Craft.co, and Crunchbase, in a bid to find the valuation of each of Accela Inc. Sources such as Crunchbase only contained revenue data about the companies. The rest of the financial information available on Crunchbase could not be accessed without a premium account.
Next, we searched for financial databases such as Bloomberg, Enlyft, and Pitchbook for any data about the company valuation. Bloomberg and Enlyft did not publish any valuation data, while the financial information on Pitchbook is behind a paywall. Lastly, we searched for the annual report of Accela Inc, press release, form 10k, and other related investor information for the company valuation of Accela Inc. Our search revealed that both companies were privately held and so are not under obligation to publish such information.


Part
03
of twenty
Part
03

Building Permit Review Software (3)

Computronix LLC, Prometheus Group, and Avolve Software Corp are three companies providing building permit software to a wide range of governmental authorities and companies. The requested information has been summarized in the attached spreadsheet.

COMPUTRONIX LLC

  • Computronix is based in Lakewood, Colorado. They have 183 employees.
  • Their building permit review software is called POSSE.
  • The company website states that they have 43 clients. Their most notable clients include the State of Kansas, City of Dallas, and City of Philadelphia.

PROMETHEUS GROUP

  • Prometheus Group is based in Raleigh, North Carolina. They have 220 employees.
  • The company was valued at over $1 billion when it was sold to Genstar earlier this year.
  • Prometheus Group has over 50,000 clients globally. Some of its most notable clients include the City of Roseville, NASA, and Sasol.

AVOLVE SOFTWARE CORPORATION

  • Avole Software Corporation is based in Scottsdale, Arizona. They have 130 employees.
  • The company has over 150 clients. Some of its most notable clients include the City of Houston, City of Phoenix, and City of Miami.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

Most of the required information was precompiled on the company websites. This information included information regarding the software products, number of clients, and notable clients. No information regarding the number of employees or company valuations was available on their websites.

We searched a range of financial databases, including Dun and Bradstreet, ZoomInfo and Crunchbase, to ascertain the number of employees and the valuation of each of the respective companies. While these sources provided us with details of the number of employees, they did not contain valuation details. Crunchbase only provides limited financial information without a premium subscription, so valuation information may be available behind the paywall.

In an attempt to determine the valuation details of the companies, we searched a range of media stories and press releases. No specific valuation details were available, although we did find several media stories that reported Prometheus Group had been sold earlier this year with a valuation of over $1 billion.

We then considered a range of industry reports and publications, which contained details of the performance and a range of financial statistics for several companies within this field. These reports contained details of funding and revenues but did not contain details of the companies valuations.

Finally, we attempted to determine the valuation of each of the companies from their annual reports. While information regarding revenue, expenditure, and other financial data is available in these reports, they did not contain any valuation details.
Part
04
of twenty
Part
04

Building Permit Review Software (4)

Azteca Systems, LLC (Cityworks) building permit processing software is known as Cityworks PLL, while CityGrows Inc. building permit processing software is called CityGrows Building Permit. Information about their number of employees, valuation, number of clients, and most prominent clients is provided in the attached spreadsheet.

Azteca Systems, LLC (Cityworks)

  • Name of software: Cityworks PLL.
  • Number of employees: 97.
  • Valuation: N/A.
  • Number of clients: 436.
  • Notable clients: Woolpert, Inc., Dhanuka Agritech Ltd, Xentity Corporation, and King County.

CityGrows Inc.

  • Name of software: CityGrows Building Permit.
  • Number of employees: 1–10.
  • Valuation: N/A.
  • Number of clients: 8+.
  • Notable clients: Ladot, City of Sancta Monica, Chelsea Town, County of Inyo, City of Monrovia, and the City of Pennsylvania.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

We began by searching through the company websites for information regarding their building permit processing software, number of employees, valuation, number of clients, and most prominent clients. We found most of the required information precompiled on the company websites and other business directory sites such as Crunchbase & Enlyft. Unfortunately, we found no data regarding both companies' valuation on their websites.
First, we explored a range of trusted media sources, news articles & publications, and business directories, which include ZoomInfo, Craft.co, and Crunchbase, in a bid to find the valuation of each of the companies. Sources such as Crunchbase only contained revenue data about the companies. We also found that Trimble completed the purchase of Azteca Systems, LLC (Cityworks), on October 3, 2019, for an undisclosed fee. The rest of the financial information available on Crunchbase could not be accessed without a premium account.
Next, we searched for financial databases such as Bloomberg, Enlyft, and Pitchbook for any data about the companies valuation. Bloomberg and Enlyft did not publish any valuation data, while the financial information on Pitchbook is behind a paywall.
Lastly, we searched for the companies annual report, press release, form 10k, and other related investor information for the company valuation of Azteca Systems, LLC (Cityworks), and CityGrows Inc. Our search revealed that both companies were privately held and so are not under obligation to publish such information.
Part
05
of twenty
Part
05

Building Permit Review Software (5)

After thorough research we found that Sungard AS has no existing contracts between the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada and City of Palm Springs. We have indicated N/A in the attached spreadsheet.

KEYFINDINGS

  • The California government software contracts database site shares the insights on the various Leveraged Procurement Agreements (LPAs) related to various states and counties in the region. However, no reference of the contract relevant to Sungard AS was found.
  • The official website of Mariposa County shares the reference of the various meetings/agendas/minutes related to the county. No references of any contract with Sungard AS was found
  • The City of Big Bear lake council has recently (July 2019) issued a reference of the RFP for calling vendors to manage their IT Managed Services and has not released any information on the finalization/signing of any such contract yet.
  • City of Cotati located in the center of Sonoma County and functions under the county's jurisdiction has not reviewed any contacts it has with Sungard AS.
  • The City of Palm Springs is part of Riverside County. The Department of Procurement and Contracting of the city issues various bid proposals and details to call vendors for various service management contracts.  No active or open bids and proposals could be found related to Sungard AS through the Procurement and Contracting department documents and other archives researched.
  • The official website of the county of Nevada shares the reference of the various meetings/agendas/minutes related to the county. No references of any contract with Tyler Technologies was found.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

To provide the contracts between Sungard AS and the mentioned municipalities such as City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, City of Palm Springs, we conducted a thorough search around each city and its county's official website by searching through their section related to Bid/proposals, meeting minutes, public document library, and press releases to look for the insights on their current and past year contracts issued to vendors for various service contracts. Past years contracts were checked to see if any agreement was signed in the past and is currently valid. Through this search, it was found that most of the counties have secured their documents related to various vendors, bid results, and others. Unfortunately, Sungard does not currently have any valid contract with the listed municipalities.
Next, we tried to find the information by searching through the Jurisdiction dept website and the Building and Planning website to check if any such contract was signed for the county through the Jurisdiction or has been recorded in their document records. For the same, we searched through sources like County Sheriff's Office, North Carolina Administrative Office, and North Carolina Judicial Branch websites. Through this search we were able to retrieve information about North Carolina contracts with Tyler technologies, no details regarding any contracts with Sungard could be found.

Additionally, we conducted a search around relevant news articles and press releases related to the specific counties and Sungard AS that may have reported relevant information on the contract signing. For the same, we searched through credible sources from Dallasnews, Patch, Mynevadacounty, KTNV, Mendocinobecon, among others. Through the search, it was found that the available information was related to either other county or was general information related to the county proposals and bids on the city development. Hence, no relevant information could be found. Through our search, we found that the information available was related to other vendors/companies and other city/council, but no relevant information was found related to Sungard AS agreements with any of the specific municipalities.

The primary reason for the missing information can be the fact that the company might have chosen to keep the information confidential so that the clients are not approached by the competition close to the contract expiry with competitive bids of their own. Also, no detailed contract documents could be found in public relevant to the municipalities in question because Sungard AS has no existing contracts with them.
Part
06
of twenty
Part
06

Building Permit Review Software (6)

The company Tyler Technologies has contracts with County of Mariposa and City of Monterey. The complete information on this company and its contracts with different municipalities is provided in the attached spreadsheet.

COUNTY OF MARIPOSA

  • The county of Mariposa signed an agreement with Tyler Technologies on August 16, 2019, which is valid for 2 years to license the software products and perform the services under the SoftCode investment summary.

COUNTY OF MONTEREY

  • The city council awarded a contract to Tyler Technologies on December 2018 to implement enterprise resource planning software system and replace the city's current financial system. No further details on the length of the contract are disclosed.
  • The search through the City of Monterey public access library and website archives did not provide any relevant agreement/contract copy to identify the length of the contract.

CITY OF COTATI

  • City of Cotati is located in the center of Sonoma County and functions under the county's jurisdiction.
  • The country executed an agreement with Tyler Technologies "to provide licensing, maintenance, and support for the Residential Computer Aided Mass Appraisal (CAMA) system for the period of January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2015, for a total contract amount of $180,000 plus cost of living adjustments annually equal to Consumer Price Index, after the first year of the agreement."
  • Insights from the MOM of the Board of Directors Meeting from Sonoma County Public Safety cover the details on the Request for Proposal for a law enforcement Records Management System received from Tyler Technologies along with other 4 vendors, and the contract was awarded to TriTech Software Systems.

CITY OF BIG BEAR LAKE

  • The City of Big Bear Lake council has recently (July 2019) issued a reference of the RFP for calling vendors to manage their IT Managed Services and has not released any information on the finalization/signing of any such contract yet.
  • The city of Bear Lake is a part of San Bernardino County and functions under the county's jurisdiction.

COUNTY OF MENDOCINO

  • A press release shares the insights that Tyler Technologies had a contract with county of Mendocino for implementing SoftCode solution, but no agreement/contract length is provided.
  • The document data of the county to access the agreement of the Tyler Technologies and the County of Mendocino has restricted access and cannot be accessed publicly.

COUNTY OF NEVADA

  • The official website of the county of Nevada shares the reference of the various meetings/agendas/minutes related to the county. No references of any contract with Tyler Technologies was found.

CITY OF PALM SPRINGS

  • The City of Palm Springs is part of Riverside County. The Department of Procurement and Contracting of the city issues various bid proposals and details to call vendors for various service management contracts.
  • No active or open bids and proposals could be found related to Tyler technologies through the Procurement and Contracting department documents and other archives researched.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

  • A news article shares the insights on the largest single contract signed by the company Tyler Technologies with the North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts and North Carolina Judicial Branch to implement statewide e-filing, better online access, and improve all aspects of court case management.
  • The contract signed between Tyler Technologies and the Judicial Council of California for the implementation of the Court Case Management Systems by the vendor, applies to County of Mariposa, San Bernardino County (City of Big Bear Lake), County of Mendocino, Monterey County, Nevada County, and Riverside county (City of Palm Springs), for the period of March 1, 2019, to February 28, 2024.
  • The California government software contracts database site shares the insights on the various Leveraged Procurement Agreements (LPAs) related to various states and counties in the region. However, no reference of the contract relevant to Tyler technologies was found.

Research Strategy:

The information on the contracts that Tyler Technologies has with the municipalities of County of Mariposa and City of Monterey was found along with the length of the contract, except for the City of Monterey.

To obtain the required information for the other municipalities such as City of Big Bear, City of Cotati, County of Mendocino, County of Nevada, and City of Palm Springs, and to determine the length of the contract for City of Monterey, we conducted a thorough search around each city and its county's official website by searching through their section related to Bid/proposals, meeting minutes, public document library, and press releases to look for the insights on their current and past year contracts issued to vendors for various service contracts. Past years contracts were checked to see if any agreement was signed in the past and is currently valid.

Through this search, it was found that most of the counties have secured their documents related to various vendors, bid results, and others. Also, it was found that the county had a past dated contract with Tyler Technologies, but is not currently valid or is still in the process of requesting proposals from the vendor and not yet finalized.

The search from the city of Monterey website, as well as meeting documents and archived documents through the public access library, did not provide any details relevant to its agreement with Tyler Technologies.

Next, we tried to find the information by searching through the Jurisdiction dept website and the Building and Planning website to check if any such contract was signed for the county through the Jurisdiction or has been recorded in their document records. For the same, we searched through sources like County Sheriff's Office, North Carolina Administrative Office, and North Carolina Judicial Branch websites.

Through this search, not much of the relevant information was found, but we were able to find a direct agreement signed by the North Carolina Judicial Branch with Tyler Technologies to upgrade the city court systems of all the counties in the region, including County of Mariposa, San Bernardino County (City of Big Bear Lake), County of Mendocino, Monterey County, Nevada County, and Riverside County (City of Palm Springs). However, since the contract was not signed with each county and the company was meant to just provide services to them, this could not be considered a municipality contract with the company.

Additionally, we conducted a search around relevant news articles and press releases related to the specific counties and Tyler Technologies that may have reported relevant information on the contract signing. For the same, we searched through credible sources from Dallasnews, Patch, Mynevadacounty, KTNV, Mendocinobecon, among others. Through the search, it was found that the available information was related to either other county or was general information related to the county proposals and bids on the city development. Hence, no relevant information could be found.

Through our search, we found that the information available was related to other vendors/companies and other city/council, but no relevant information was found related to Tyler Technologies agreements with any of the specific municipalities.
Part
07
of twenty
Part
07

Building Permit Review Software (7)

Accela, Inc. has had various contracts with the City of Big Bear Lake, the City of Cotati, the County of Mariposa, the County of Mendocino, the City of Monterrey and the City of Palm Springs. In the attached spreadsheet, row 9, column D has been filled with the requested information.

Part
08
of twenty
Part
08

Building Permit Review Software (8)

Computronix does not have any contracts with the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, and the City of Palm Springs. Computronix explicitly states its municipal clients and none of them include any of these municipalities. The attached spreadsheet has been filled with these details.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

To find any contracts Computronix has with the given municipalities, we first scoured through the website of Computronix and reviewed its clients. While several municipalities are Computronix's clients, the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, and the City of Palm Springs are not listed as the company's clients. We then looked into each of the given municipality's open, closed, and awarded bids on their websites and found that none of the given municipalities have awarded any contracts to Computronix. As a last resort, we looked into third party websites that provide information on government contracts and bids and were unable to find any contracts Computronix has with the given municipalities.
Part
09
of twenty
Part
09

Building Permit Review Software (9)

The City of Roseville used Prometheus Group's mobility offerings to improve the accuracy of materials, reduce their inventory shrink rate, and automate field inspection, among other functions.

PROMETHEUS GROUP

GOVERNMENT

Municipalities

  • The County of Nevada awarded the Traffic Signal Installations contract to Elecnor Belco Electric, Calpromax Engineering, DBX, and PTM General Engineering Services.
  • The County of Mendocino awarded contracts to departments such as agriculture, animal care services, air quality management, and others, but none of the existing contracts were awarded belonged to software, which is the offering by Prometheus Group.

RESEARCH STRATEGY:

To find the government contracts of Prometheus Group, we commenced our search by thoroughly studying the company website and checked deeper into information in press releases, investor reports, company blogs, and company case studies. This was a preferred research path as the company website and resources are a primary source of information for any contract the company undertakes. All the company resources mentioned about the company and its solutions along with details on their clients. The city of Roseville was found to be the only municipality to have a contract with the Prometheus Group. However, there was no information pertaining to contracts with the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, or the City of Palm Springs.
Next, we scanned through the press releases, reports, and websites of the assigned counties to collect any information, if available, regarding any contract with Prometheus Group. While there was some information pertaining to open contracts that have been awarded to some companies, none of the awarded contracted listed Prometheus Group.

As our third strategy, we looked out for all contracts of Prometheus Group in databases such as GovShop, Government Contracts and Bids, and GovTribe, among others. Since these databases have a list of federal, state, and local contracts awarded to vendors, the idea was to filter out the contracts signed with the assigned municipalities. Unfortunately, as per GovShop, Prometheus Group does not have any existing contracts, and the same was corroborated with the information found in Government Contracts and Bids. Therefore, the strategy did not yield the required results.

We then attempted to triangulate the required information by checking the reports on California government software contracts so that the same information can be used to extrapolate the required information for the mentioned counties. We scanned through third party websites such as Cale Procure, DGS, Bid Net, Government Bids, and others. We located a list of municipalities contracts with other software companies, but none of the assigned municipalities had any contracts with Prometheus Group.

Lastly, we searched for information beyond the 24 months time frame as there could be older contracts which are active at present as the part of all the above strategies, but could only locate insights on contracts of Prometheus Group with private players such as Chemours, DuPont, ExxonMobil, Woodside, and many others, but no partnership or contract with assigned municipalities were found.

We, therefore, conclude that information regarding government contracts of Prometheus Group with municipalities such as the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada and City of Palm Springs is not available. This is because Prometheus Group has dealt contracts with cities such as the City of Roseville and not with those mentioned in the client's criteria.
Part
10
of twenty
Part
10

Building Permit Review Software 10)

CAL FIRE, the State of California fire protection agency, has been using Avolve Software for electronic review of related plans and documents for permit approvals. Below are the helpful findings for this spreadsheet request, as well as our research strategy to explain why the requested information could not be obtained.

AVOLVE SOFTWARE CONTRACTS

RESEARCH STRATEGY:

First, we scanned/xrayed the Avolve Software website, hoping to find a compiled list of their clients, active contracts, and a full list of projects that aims to determine whether they have current or past contracts with the assigned cities and counties in the research criteria. Unfortunately, Avolve Software has no compiled records for their contracts and projects. However, we found some press releases and case studies on their websites for their contracts for other cities and government departments in California, which we added in our key findings to serve as helpful insights.
Next, we consulted jurisdiction building and planning department websites and cities/counties meeting minutes report for each of the assigned cities/counties such as Nevada County Building Department, City of Big Bear Lake Building and Safety Division, Mariposa County, etc., to find any contract with Avolve Software/ProjectDox. Here too, we were not able to find any active or past contracts with Avolve software. We only found their processing rules, how-to guides, and requirements to obtain building permits/business licenses. We also tried to find any associated/contracts for other building permit software providers utilized by the assigned cities/counties, but we found nothing.
Lastly, we switched gears and tried consulting Enlyft, since their reports for software review has pre-compiled lists of companies/organizations that are using the product that might lead us to determine whether the assigned cities/counties are utilizing the building permit software of Avolve. However, there was limited data found in the profile of Avolve Software in Enlyft review. The information focused on their current technologies, number of employees, estimated revenues, and others. We also tried checking their G2 profile, which provides client testimonials for software providers, hoping to find any product review that comes from building permit division/department of the assigned cities and county, without no success.
Part
11
of twenty
Part
11

Building Permit Review Software (11)

Despite conducting very thorough research, we didn't find any information about government contracts between Azteca Systems/Cityworks and the specified municipalities. We noted that by entering "N/A" in the attached spreadsheet. We did, however, find three mentions of government contracts and other municipalities in California, which are included in our research findings below.

Azteca Systems/Cityworks: Municipal Contracts

  • Azteca Systems had (and might still have) a longstanding government contract with the City of Woodland, California. The company has been under contract with the city since 2002 until at least 2017 (when the article was published).
  • Azteca Systems entered into a government contract with the City of Escondido. The contract started on September 30, 2018, and is scheduled to end on June 30, 2020.
  • Azteca Systems entered into a government contract with the City of Watsonville. We couldn't find the contract length, but we found the Request for Proposal between the company and city (proposed contract length not stated), plus a mention of the city's implementation of Cityworks in meeting minutes from April 30, 2019.

Research Strategy

We couldn't find any publicly available information about government contracts that Azteca Systems LLC/Cityworks has with any of the specified municipalities (City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, and the City of Palm Springs). We looked for that information by using three different research methods. Before explaining those research methods, we first wanted to explain that we looked for information about both the company (Azteca Systems LLC) and its product (Cityworks). We did so because we noticed early in our research that sometimes Azteca was referenced and other times Cityworks was mentioned. Thus, looking for information about both Azteca and Cityworks ensured that our research was completely thorough.

The first research method we implemented involved looking for the requested information in city/county council meeting minutes. We did so by visiting each county's website and using the search tool therein to look for any results pertaining to Azteca Systems or Cityworks. We did so because municipalities publish their meeting minutes on their sites. There were no such mentions for any of the counties. For our second research method, we looked for any media mentions announcing municipal contracts between Azteca Systems/Cityworks and the specified municipalities. We checked for those media mentions by looking for any articles published on this topic, but we didn't find a single such article for any of the specified counties. From this strategy, we did find some mentions of government contracts between Azteca Systems and other California municipalities, which are included in our research findings above.

As a third research method, we went to Azteca System's website and used the search tool therein to look for any information about each of the specified municipalities. We did so because Azteca published information about some of its government contracts in the Resources section of its website. All but one of the specified municipalities that we searched for on the company's site yielded a "no results" message. The one municipality search that yielded any information was our search for information about the City of Palm Springs, but that information wasn't about a government contract with the city. Instead, it was about an event that the company attended in Palm Springs (Ersi Partner Conference), which was unrelated to a contract with the City of Palm Springs. Since none of these research methods yielded any information whatsoever about government contracts between the company and the specified municipalities, we concluded that we were unable to locate any such information.
Part
12
of twenty
Part
12

Building Permit Review Software (12)

After an exhaustive search through credible sources, it appears that information on the government contracts that CityGrows has with the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, City of Palm Springs. Therefore, N/A (not available) has been entered into column I, row nine of the attached spreadsheet.

HELPFUL FINDINGS:

  • Some cities and municipalities that have been clients of CityGrows Inc. include areas in California such as Santa Monica, Los Angeles, City of Monrovia, City of Paramount, County of Inyo, as well as Chelsea, Massachusetts, and Erie, Pennsylvania, among others.
  • The City of Santa Monica, California, approved the first modification of their contract agreement with CityGrows on July 24, 2018, with an amended amount of about $138,000.
  • The City of Monrovia, California, recently expanded their partnership with CityGrows from consultancy services to availing their performance management platform and additional services with an amended amount of about $50,000 in annual costs. (s6)
  • The County of Inyo, California, started a contract with CityGrows for the company to serve as the "sole-source provider for the County Clerk’s electronic filing of Fictitious Business Name Statements" and "electronic filing of Fictitious Business Name Statements at no cost to the County for the term of July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2027."
  • Paramount City, California, currently has a contract and agreement with IworQ Modular Software System for their permit review management solutions.

Research Strategy:

Our research began by searching for existing government contracts CityGrows, Inc., has with the City of Big Bear Lake, City of Cotati, County of Mariposa, County of Mendocino, City of Monterey, County of Nevada, and City of Palm Springs. We also used World Atlas to learn about the major cities in the County of Mariposa, County of Nevada, and County of Mendocino, in the jurisdiction of California. Then, we utilized CityGrows' main site to search for filings or contracts with the mentioned municipalities. However, we did not find any relevant information. We came across press coverage and information about some of the cities and municipalities that are current and past clients of CityGrows, Inc.
Next, we consulted government websites of the specified areas and major cities of the counties mentioned, particularly paying attention to their city/county council meeting minutes, jurisdiction building and planning dept websites, calling jurisdictions, etc. Our goal was to find any government contracts, filings, or agreements between the assigned locations and CityGrows, Inc. However, we did not find any relevant information that provides evidence of agreements or contracts between the two parties. We only found government contracts and agreements of other private companies that were either similar to CityGrows, Inc. and its permit review program, along with software that is not relevant to permit review services.
Afterward, we scoured through business review sources such as Dun & Bradstreet (D&B), Capterra, G2, and Enlyft, among others. Our goal was to find any relevant information on contracts or agreements between CityGrows and the assigned cities and municipalities for utilizing their permit review software. However, we still did not locate useful data. We only found CityGrows' current technologies used, number of employees, estimated revenue, and other company information that is not relevant to this topic.

Due to lack of pre-compiled reports, we concluded that there is no publicly available information regarding CityGrows' government contracts or agreements with the specified cities and municipalities. The reason for this is that the criteria are very specific. Also, the cities/municipalities mentioned did not have business connections with CityGrows, as evident with the cities/counties they have already worked with listed on the company website.
Part
13
of twenty
Part
13

Building Permit Review Software (13)

Sungard AS does not have any contracts with the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, or City of Windsor. Therefore, N/A (not available) has been entered into column B, row nine of the attached spreadsheet.

USEFUL FINDINGS

Placer County

  • Placer County has awarded bids, but none were with Sungard AS.

City of Santa Cruz

  • Here is a link to all the open, closed, and awarded bids for the City of Santa Cruz. None are with Sungard AS.
  • Here is a link to all the action agendas and advisory board minutes of the City of Santa Cruz for its various departments, including the Planning Commission, Zoning Administrator, Public Safety, and others available under open access, but there are no contracts with Sungard AS.

City of Truckee

  • Here is a link to all the open, closed, and awarded bids for the City of Truckee. There is no available information on any contracts with Sungard AS.
  • The official website of the City of Truckee has references on various Planning Commission meetings, agenda, minutes, along with other vendor services.

City of Tulare

  • Here is a link to all the open, closed, and awarded bids for the City of Tulare. There is no available information on any contracts with Sungard AS.

City of Twentynine Palms

  • The City of Twentynine Palms City Council provides information on meeting agendas, staff reports, and minutes and has published records related to various city discussions, contracts awarded, and proposals, but there is no reference of any such contract related to Sungard AS.
  • Various contracts have been awarded by the City of Twentynine Palms, but none to Sungard AS.

City of Windsor

  • The City of Windsor shares bid information, but there is nothing referring to Sungard AS.
  • Here is a link to the City of Windsor's department meetings, minutes, agenda, and agreements, with no references to any service contract with Sungard AS.

Santa Cruz County

  • The Santa Cruz County Chamber of Commerce shares references of various projects, council meetings, and council minutes related to the county, but there are no references related to contracts with Sungard AS.

Additional Information

  • Sungard AS has received several government defense contracts from 2000-2018, but none in the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, or the City of Windsor.

Research Strategy:

To find any contracts Sungard AS has with the various municipalities, we searched through the official websites of each city and county listed and every section related to bid/proposals, meeting minutes, public document library, and agenda. We located several open, closed, and awarded bids. However, we did not find any contracts awarded to Sungard AS.

We also searched for Sungard's contracts in these municipalities through public record websites like Government Contracts Won. We found several contracts awarded to Sungard AS in other municipalities, but none in any of the specified ones in California.


Part
14
of twenty
Part
14

Building Permit Review Software (14)

In Mar 2014, the company signed a contract with California's Tulare County for its 'EnerGov' planning, permitting, and licensing software suite. The agreement included related professional services, training and support. In Oct 2015, the Superior Court of the County of Santa Cruz entered into a contract for 'Odyssey eFileCA' solution of the company that allows users to file documents online with courts across the state 24 hours a day, every day of the week.

COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ

  • In May 2014, the Company had signed a contract with Superior Court of California, County of Santa Cruz, for its 'Odyssey court case management' software system to integrate court case processes and meet the strategic goal of providing equal access to the court for all.
  • The County of Santa Cruz had implemented Odyssey for all case types, including criminal, civil, family, and traffic. It also signed the contract under the State's Master Services Agreement (MSA) that gives California's 58 Superior Courts the ability to purchase Tyler's Odyssey integrated court case management system at pre-negotiated terms, conditions, and pricing outlined in the MSA.
  • In Oct 2015, the Superior Court of the County of Santa Cruz further entered into a contract for 'Odyssey eFileCA' solution of the company that allows users to file documents online with courts across the state 24 hours a day, every day of the week.
  • The solution acts as an integrated e-filing platform to allow attorneys and courts to file and manage documents.
  • No information around the length of the contract was provided.

CITY OF TRUCKEE

  • In October 2012, the Company announced that it had signed a contract with Nevada's Truckee Meadows Water Authority (TMWA) for its enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution labeled as 'Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012'.
  • The contract also included Tyler's complementary Eden human capital management and payroll applications.
  • As per the terms of the agreement with TMWA, the company implemented Dynamics AX 2012 applications, including project accounting, accounts receivable, general ledger and business intelligence.
  • No information around the length of the contract was provided.

COUNTY OF TULARE

  • In Mar 2014, the company signed a contract with California's Tulare County for its 'EnerGov' planning, permitting and licensing software suite. The agreement included related professional services, training, and support.
  • The County of Tulare had chosen the software suite for its overall scalability and flexibility in automating processes for permitting, regulatory licensing, and citizen engagement. The same suite replaced the county's current technology to improve customer service and streamline the review process.
  • Also, the software suite allows the County officials to monitor the status and progress of land use entitlements. It also follows building permits in real-time and assists in emergency services with information tracking.
  • No information around the length of the contract was provided.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

The company was found to have contracts/agreements with three of the provided counties. An exhaustive search was conducted across all the provided counties to search for the contract information. Kindly note that all the contracts found were from the earlier period, but since these contracts tend to be longer-term dated (5 to 10 years) and no contract length period was mentioned in the details, we have included these in my findings as they might be still valid.

Also, since the RC did not specify any specific period for which the contracts were supposed to be searched, we have included all the ones we could locate during our search for the various counties.
This has been presented as a PCU because while we were able to locate the details of the contracts of Tyler Technologies that it had signed with various given counties, no information apropos of the length of these contracts were disclosed in the press releases or other public resources. All the information found was not relevant to the details of the software solution for which the contract was signed and also the various inclusions in the agreements signed with the different counties.

The primary reason for the missing information can be the fact that the company might have chosen to keep the information confidential so that the clients are not approached by the competition close to the contract expiry with competitive bids of their own. Also, no detailed contract documents could be found in public relevant to the multiple agreements due to the lack of detailed T&C of the various contracts could be fetched. Below were my research strategies to make sure that an exhaustive search was conducted to find the information and also to locate the information on the length of the contracts.
Our first strategy was to search through the website and its various sections such as 'Success Stories', 'Blog', 'Resources', 'Investor Relations' and especially the 'Press Releases' to look for contracts with the various provided counties. These are the most potential and bonafide sources to cull information around the multiple agreements/contracts that the company has with its clients, and hence we decided to leverage this research path prima facie. The company did mention the deals that it had won with various counties in its press release section, and we made sure to dive into the press release archives to extract information on all the contracts that it had signed with the provided counties.

We were able to successfully locate agreements of the company with County of Tulare, City of Truckee, and County of Santa Cruz. Each of the press releases did mention the details of the software solution for which the contract had been signed but did not enumerate any details of the length of each of the contracts due to lack of relevant information.
Our second strategy was to look through the credible regulatory databases such as SEC Edgar for the relevant company filings and also various company databases such as Hoovers, Crunchbase, Craft.Io, D&B, and so on. We made it a point to look through the D&B database, as mentioned in the RC. These databases are again a potential source of information as they provide an aggregation of external media and press articles around a company (especially some premium articles). Hence, the idea was to go through them to check if any additional information on contracts signed by the company with various counties were available.

However, no additional contract information or data around the length of the contracts could be found. All the information found centered around the general company description, its financing status, and other financial information. The information on the deals was an encore of the one seen through the press releases with no new contracts found with the assigned counties. Also, no data on the length of the individual contracts signed with County of Tulare, City of Truckee, and County of Santa Cruz could be found.

We also searched through the SEC Edgar database to go through the various financial filings of the company, such as annual reports, 8-k statements, company presentations, and earnings call transcripts. Again, no relevant information was found through these filings, and they just enumerated the financial and operational data for the company.
Our third strategy was to look for the third party broker research reports from GS, Deloitte, McKinsey, RBS, JPM, and Bloomberg, particularly the initiating coverage reports for the company. These are incredibly detailed and covered various aspects of the company's financial health and outlines its key developments. Typically, brokers do track the significant contracts won by the company as it impacts its forecast revenue stream; hence, the valuations around the company and its price target. Thus, we decided to follow this research path. While we were able to locate the analyst coverage for the company, there were no details of the various contracts that could be located. All the information found centered around the price target, consensus stock recommendation, and financial metrics for the company. No new deals or details on the length of existing contracts were found.
Our fourth strategy was to search through each city's/county's official website and search through their sections related to bid/proposals, meeting minutes, public document library, and press releases. The intention is to identify the insights on their current and past year contracts issued to vendors for various technology service solutions. Also, as mentioned in the RC, we made sure to search for the city/county council meeting minutes and jurisdiction building and planning department websites to search for the required information. While we were able to locate the minutes for specific counties successfully, there were no details on the length of the projects or any new contracts signed by the company that could be found through the same. Also, the jurisdiction website referred to the Master Service Agreement that we had located through the press releases as well with no new additional details found.
Part
15
of twenty
Part
15

Building Permit Review Software (15)

In 2017, Accela got a government contract for a five-year term with a bid amount of $267,765, for providing software and support services for the Health Services Agency (HSA) with Envision-Connect software. In 2014, Accela Inc got a government contract from Placer County, California, for providing civic engagement solutions through the Accela Civic Platform. Available contract information has been provided below as well as in row 9, column D in the attached spreadsheet.

ACCELA INC

  • Accela Inc is a leading software solution provider, which bids 2,000 local and state government contracts with 1,200 developers.
  • The company provides 95% of California's counties with cloud-based productivity and civic engagement solutions.

MUNICIPALITIES

COUNTY OF PLACER:
  • In 2014, Accela got a government contract from Placer County, California, for providing civic engagement solutions through the Accela Civic Platform. Accela Civic Platform will include solutions such as Accela Mobile Office, Accela Citizen Access, and Accela GIS.
  • This Accela Civic Platform contract is currently active, but details on the length of the contract are not published.
COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ:
  • In 2017, Accela got a government contract for a five-year term with a bid amount of $267,765, for providing software and support services for the Health Services Agency (HSA) with Envision-Connect software.
COUNTY OF TULARE:
  • In 2018, Accela, Inc. got a government contract from Tulare County, California, for providing a public access portal that enables businesses and citizens to access many government services. However, details on contract terms are not published.

ADDITIONAL INSIGHTS

  • Here is a list of Accela's 323 customers in California.
  • In 2006, the city of Truckee had a contract with Accela, Inc., which is not currently active.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

Information on the length of the contracts between Accela Inc and the County of Placer and the County of Tulare, as well as information on Accela Inc's contracts with the City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor is not available in public domain. Information on the contract lengths might be confidential in nature, and the company might not have had contracts with the above counties other than the County of Placer and the County of Tulare.

Firstly, we searched for information on government contracts with Accela Inc. concerning the mentioned municipalities via the company's website and the respective municipality websites, D+B reports, city/county council meeting minutes, jurisdiction building and planning dept websites, and calling jurisdictions, as they are most credible sources of information on contracts. We found that the County of Placer and the County of Santa Cruz have contracts with Accela Inc., but could not locate any information about the company's contracts with other requested municipalities. We also could not find information on the length of the contracts with the County of Placer and the County of Tulare.

Next, we searched for information on government contracts and the lengths of contracts with Accela Inc. for the requested municipalities via third-party press releases such as PRWeb, GISCafe, and Fit Small Business. While there were some insights on contracts with Tulare County and County of Placer, there was no information on the lengths of Accela Inc's contracts with County of Placer and County of Tulare and no information on its contracts with the City of Santa Cruz, the City of Truckee, the City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor.

Further, we looked for reports on California government software contracts and tried to see if the company and the requested counties feature in those reports across various websites such as Cal eProcure, Department of General Services, BidNet, Monterey Peninsula Water Management District (MPWMD), and GovernmentBids.com. While we found a list of other municipalities' contracts with Accela Inc, there were no contracts specific to the requested municipalities.

Using the above approaches, we also tried looking for contractual information beyond 24 months as there could be older contracts that are active at present. We found insights on expired contracts, but no active contractual information.

Part
16
of twenty
Part
16

Building Permit Review Software (16)

Computronix LLC is one of the seven companies that are used by the 50 most populous cities in the US to implement their land management systems. However, even after exhaustive research in the public domain, contracts between Computronix LLC and the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor could not be located. Thus, we put N/A in column E, row 9 of the attached spreadsheet. Below are some relevant findings.

RELEVANT INSIGHTS

COMPUTRONIX, LCC

  • Computronix LLC is one of the seven companies being used by the 50 most populous cities in the US to implement their land management systems.
  • The company has a 2% market share.
  • The City of Albuquerque, Broward County, Chesterfield County, Clark County, City of Dallas, Douglas County, Hamilton County, Henrico County, City & County of Honolulu, Madera County, Mecklenburg County, City of Philadelphia, City of Pittsburgh, City of Riverside British Columbia (BC) Ministry of Environment, BC Ministry of Transportation, City of Edmonton, and City of Saskatoon are counties and cities that have a contract with Computronix LLC.
  • The State of California had a contract with Computronix from January 1, 2016, to July 31, 2019. The contract included website design services, IT consultation services, system analysis service, and database design.

CHIEF BUILDING OFFICIALS

RESEARCH STRATEGY

To find all the contracts that Computronix LLC has had with the listed municipalities, we started our search by looking at the official website of Computronix as some companies publish the list of their clients on their websites. Although Computronix published some case studies about their clients, which include projects with certain states and counties, it did not include any of the specified municipalities. The complete list of its clients is also not publicly available on its website. There are also no press releases or investor relation-related information that might have mentioned some more of their clients.

Next, we individually checked the official websites of the listed municipalities (County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, the City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, and City of Windsor). However, the only information we found was contracts between these municipalities and other companies, such as with a water service provider and a private law firm, not with Computronix LLC.

We also looked into third-party press releases and news articles from leading media publications to see if there has been any mention of a contract between any of the municipalities listed and Computronix LLC. Unfortunately, this also did not give us any results. We even extended beyond the standard 24-month time frame as there could be older contracts that might still be active at present. Still, we could not locate any contracts between Computronix LLC and the specified municipalities.

We changed strategy and looked into contracts/supplier databases of the listed municipalities as well as of the state of California. Using this strategy, we were able to find only one contract with Computronix LLC. However, the contract was with the state of California, not with any of the listed municipalities. The said contract started on 01/01/2016 and expired on 07/31/2019. This contract included website design services, IT consultation services, system analysis service, and database design. We added this information as one of the relevant findings.

As a last resort, we looked into government and third-party procurement websites to check which suppliers the municipalities have with their IT solutions. Through this strategy, we found out that the City of Truckee, Country of Tulare, and County of Santa Cruz all have a contract with Tyler Technologies.

The lack of information could be because Computronix LLC does not have any contract with the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, the City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor. Instead, the company has a contract with the following municipalities: City of Albuquerque, Broward County, Chesterfield County, Clark County, City of Dallas, Douglas County, Hamilton County, Henrico County, City & County of Honolulu, and Madera County.
Part
17
of twenty
Part
17

Building Permit Review Software (17)

After an exhaustive search, research revealed there were no government contracts awarded or assigned to the Prometheus Group from the County of Placer, City of Truckee, City of Twentynine Palms, City of Windsor, County of Tulare, County of Santa Cruz, or City of Santa Cruz. Below is an outline of the research strategies used to understand this finding. The appropriate cell has been marked accordingly ('N/A') within the attached spreadsheet.

COUNTY OF PLACER

  • The official website of the county references various meeting minutes along with reports of procurement service bids and proposals, but no references related to the agreement with the Prometheus Group was available.
  • The county granted a contract for "Information Technology Support Services" but not to the Prometheus Group.

CITY OF TRUCKEE

  • The official website of the City of Truckee references various Planning Commission meetings, agendas, and minutes along with other vendor services.
  • The public document database of the City of Truckee has various current and past documents, agreements, minutes, council records and other documents. But the search did not render any relevant contract/agreement with the Prometheus Group.

CITY OF TWENTYNINE PALMS

  • The City of Twentynine Palms City Council meeting agendas, staff reports and minutes have published the records related to various city discussions, contracts awarded and proposals, but no reference to any such contract related to the Prometheus Group has been found.
  • News articles only reference the Twentynine Palms City Council meetings related to proposed improvements and the Project Phoenix Cultural and Visitor Center.

CITY OF WINDSOR

  • The City of Windsor references various bids and proposals along with planning commission minutes but no reference related to an agreement/contract with the Prometheus Group has been found.
  • The document repository of the City of Windsor references various town council, Public Art Advisory Commission meetings, Planning Commission and other department meeting, minutes, agendas, and agreements, but no reference of any service contract with Prometheus group has been found.
  • The Windsor Chamber of Commerce is the economic jurisdiction organization for the City of Windsor and references various proposals, contracts and requests made by the city municipality or other departments; nothing on the Prometheus Group was found.

COUNTY OF TULARE

  • The website of the County of Tulare references various council meeting minutes, reports from various departments including Planning Commission, Housing and Building Board, City Council and others, but no reference of awarding any contract to the Prometheus Group has been found.

COUNTY OF SANTA CRUZ

  • The Santa Cruz County, Chamber of Commerce references various projects, council meetings and minutes related to the county, but no reference related to the County of Santa Cruz municipality having contracts with the Prometheus group has been found.
  • The Santa Cruz County Design and Planning Department shares resources related to proposed RFP (request for proposal) and other reviews and designs for various projects but no contracts with the Prometheus Group have been found.

CITY OF SANTA CRUZ

  • The reference documents related to advisory body agendas, action agendas, and minutes for the City of Santa Cruz for its various departments including the Planning Commission, Zoning Administration, Public Safety and others is available under open access but no contracts with the Prometheus Group have been found.
  • Various news articles related to the City of Santa Cruz have been examined from the current and past time period but no reference to any contracts with the Prometheus Group has been found.
  • Online services by the jurisdiction of the County of Santa Cruz references various vendor related RFPs, RFIs (request for information), and RFQs (request for quote), but no contract or agreement to award agreement to the Prometheus Group was found.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

  • The contracts database site, GovernmentContractsWon, references various contracts by including those for the Prometheus Group but it doesn't refer to any of the above-mentioned counties/cities.
  • The California government website shares state and local agencies' leveraged procurement agreements (LPAs) "such as cooperative agreements, statewide commodity contracts, statewide food contracts, master agreements, software licensing program contracts, state price schedules, and California multiple award schedules." But, no reference related to Prometheus Group was found.

RESEARCH STRATEGY:

The research team conducted a thorough search around each city and its county's official websites and searched through their sections related to bids/proposals, meeting minutes, public document libraries and press releases to search for the insights on their current and past year contracts issued to vendors for various services. Past year's contracts were checked to see if any agreements were signed in the past and is currently valid to include as findings. Through the search it was found that most of the counties had a public access repository for accessing various documents related to agendas, council meetings, minutes, bid and proposals but no relevant information related to the contract/agreement/bid acceptance related to the Prometheus Group was found.

Further, the team tried to search for relevant information by examining the records relevant to the above-listed counties/cities through the justice department websites and the building and planning websites to check if any such contracts were signed for the county. We also checked sources from the County Sheriff's offices, the California Administrative Office and Judicial Branch websites. Through the search, no relevant information could be identified as most of the information available was related to different vendors other than the Prometheus Group.

Additionally, we searched for relevant news articles and press releases related to each county/city and the Prometheus Group to check if any relevant information on the contract signing had been reported by media (e.g., Mercury News, Patch, Twentynine Palms News, and others). The search provided very general information around various city/county development plans and guidelines to proposals but no relevant information could be found.

Through the search, it was found that the information available was related to either other vendors/companies or other cities/counties. Hence, no relevant information was found related to the Prometheus Group's agreements with any of the above-listed municipalities. We, therefore, marked 'N/A' in column F, row 9 of the attached spreadsheet.

Part
18
of twenty
Part
18

Building Permit Review Software (18)

Avolve Software Corp has no contracts with the County of Placer, the County of Santa Cruz, the City of Santa Cruz, the City of Truckee, the County of Tulare, the City of Twentynine Palms, or the City of Windsor. Consequently, column G, row 9 of the attached spreadsheet has not been filled in. Below is an overview of the information that was available.

AVOLVE SOFTWARE CONTRACTS

  • Some clients of Avolve Software include the City of Miami in Florida, Fairfax County in Virginia, the City of Houston in Texas, the City of Riverside in California, and the City of Phoenix in Arizona.
  • In the City of Riverside, CA, the Riverside City Council authorized the implementation and use of Avolve Software's Project Dox program in 2013. The contract was re-approved in April 2018 with a total general fund of $33,508.80.
  • According to the City Council Report of the City of Santa Monica, CA dated April 9, 2019, the city was in the process of recommending a third modification to the original contract agreement between the city and Avolve Software. This would result in a "five-year amended agreement with a new total amount not to exceed $267,441 with future year funding contingent on Council budget approval."
  • Avolve Software has a contract with the City of San Jose, CA, which started on September 20, 2016, and will end on July 31, 2026. With this contract, the city purchased the Project Dox system. Support, maintenance, and related professional services were included in the contract.

SOFTWARE CONTRACTS FOR SANTA CRUZ AND PLACER

  • The County of Santa Cruz, California has OneSolution as its only affiliated software provider.
  • The County of Placer, California uses Athena Institute’s "Athena Impact Estimator for Buildings," which is a whole-building software tool that "compares the relative environmental effects or trade-offs across alternative building design solutions at the conceptual design stage."

RESEARCH STRATEGY

We did not find government contracts between Avolve Software and the assigned cities and counties (the County of Placer, the County of Santa Cruz, the City of Santa Cruz, the City of Truckee, the County of Tulare, the City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor). To find the information, we used the following strategies.

First, we searched for Avolve Software's contracts with the assigned cities and municipalities on the company's website as we believed this to be the most credible source to search for filings or contracts with the mentioned municipalities. However, we did not find any relevant information on the company's contracts. We did find case studies and press releases about cities and municipalities that are clients or have been clients in the past.

Next, we consulted the official websites of the assigned municipalities, particularly their city/county council meeting minutes, jurisdiction building and planning department websites, calling jurisdictions, and other similar sources. Our goal was to find any government contract, filing or agreement between the assigned municipality and Avolve Software. However, we did not find evidence of agreements or contracts between the two parties. We only found contracts and agreements between the respective municipalities and other private companies that did not concern software reviews or any program similar to Avolve Software's Project Dox program.

Last, we used business review sources (such as Dun & Bradstreet (D&B) and Enlyft, among others) to find the requested information. Again, no relevant information was found. We only found information on the current technologies Avolve Software uses, the number of employees it has, its estimated revenue and other irrelevant company information.

After applying these strategies, we concluded that this information was not available in the public domain possibly because there is no business connection (yet) between the assigned cities/municipalities and Avolve Software.


Part
19
of twenty
Part
19

Building Permit Review Software (19)

Azteca Systems designed Cityworks to be one of the leading GIS-centric platforms to assist communities to work more efficiently and better serve their people. While Azteca Systems has worked with several municipalities such as the City of Raleigh, City of Cupertino, City of Augusta, the County of Gibson, and County of Douglas, there are no contracts that the company has had with the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, County of Tulare, the City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, City of Twentynine Palms, and City of Windsor. The entry into column H, row 9 of the attached spreadsheet has been documented with N/A.

Insights

  • Azteca Systems was established in the year 1986 and launched its Cityworks platform in 1996. The GIS-centric public asset management platform is used by several municipalities in the United States. Overall, the company's software is being used by over 700 organizations across the world.
  • Among the numerous municipalities that Azteca Systems has had contracts with, some noteworthy contracts were made with the City of Raleigh, the City of West Jordan, City of Beaverton, City of Cupertino, City of St. George, and the County of Gibson.
  • In 2016, the South Placer Municipal Utility District announced its partnership with the global innovator, Innovyze, for its InfoMaster software that helps manage and plan the county's sewer collection system. It was found that the analytics-driven asset management software provides various features including direct integration with software such as Cartegraph by Dubuque, Cityworks by Azteca Systems, Lucityby Overland Park, and infraMAP by iWater. While the chosen software, InfoMaster, provides an interface to directly integrate with Cityworks, Azteca Systems has not signed a contract with the County of Placer so far.
  • According to the Central Coast Joint Data Committee (CCJDC), the City of Watsonville is working on signing a contract with Azteca Systems for its Cityworks management software to help manage its water department.
  • The City of Cupertino has been using Cityworks GIS capabilities to enhance its workflow, reduce paper consumption, improve time management, and increase customer satisfaction since 2009.
  • Some municipalities are utilizing a combination of Azteca Systems' products to further enhance their internal and external performance such as Cityworks+UtiliSync by the City of West Jordan and Cityworks+ArcGIS by the City of St. George. The municipalities that have used these platforms have seen a reduction in overall labor, cost, and inefficiencies in their public asset management.

Research Strategy

We began our search for the contracts that Azteca Systems LLC has had with the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, County of Tulare, the City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, City of Twentynine Palms, and City of Windsor by looking into Azteca Systems' official website, its magazine features, press releases, whitepaper resources, and videos. A thorough search through these channels provided us with a detailed list of municipalities and customers the company has worked with. However, it was found that Azteca Systems has not had a single contract with any of the seven required municipalities. We then individually researched the listed municipalities — County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor. After an extensive search through their individual databases, we found no information pertaining to Azteca Systems having any contracts with them. We then expanded our search further to include government databases and industry-specific databases such as GIS Resources, media reports from websites such as PWC, and research reports from websites such as McKinsey. After an exhaustive search through these channels, we found no evidence of Azteca Systems having any contracts with the seven listed municipalities.
Part
20
of twenty
Part
20

Building Permit Review Software (20)

CityGrows has not made any contracts with the County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, and the City of Windsor. Some of CityGrows' customers include the City of Santa Monica, City of Los Angeles, County of Inyo, City of Monrovia, and the City of Erie. The requested information has been documented in column I, row 9 of the attached spreadsheet.

Insights

  • Athena Impact Estimator for Buildings is the software provider for the County of Placer.
  • OneSolution software is the only software provider that the County of Santa Cruz is affiliated with.
  • Bluebeam software is the completion of the Pixley Main St. Sidewalk Improvement Project in the County of Tulare.
  • The City of Paramount repurposed the workflow from Monrovia’s service that was based on CityGrows platform and launched its very own digital program for rebates.
  • CityGrows also featured a case study with the City of Santa Monica where it launched the "Hack the Beach challenge" with the objectives of improving the city's internal performance and processes such as online payment functions and digital building permit process.
  • CityGrows has worked with the City of Los Angeles, City of Chelsea, City of Erie, City of Monrovia, County of Inyo, Neighborhood Councils Empower LA, and the City of Santa Monica.

Research Strategy:

We began our search for government contracts for the given seven jurisdictions by first looking into CityGrows' official website. A thorough search through the website provided no information on contracts with any of the required municipalities. We then looked into the various programs CityGrows has developed within California. Through this search, we found that CityGrows has worked with several municipalities such as the City of Monrovia and the City of Paramount. However, after searching through their list of customers, we found no evidence of the company working with any of the requested municipalities (County of Placer, County of Santa Cruz, the City of Santa Cruz, City of Truckee, County of Tulare, City of Twentynine Palms, City of Windsor).

We then individually researched each of the given municipalities to determine if CityGrows has had a contract with them. We looked into each of their official websites, press releases, news articles, and county/city council meeting reports. The goal was to look for any software provider/ company they partnered with. Through our search, we found specific software companies with building permits that associated with the municipalities — Athena Impact Estimator for Buildings for the County of Placer, OneSolution software for the County of Santa Cruz, New World Systems for the City of Truckee, and Bluebeam software for the County of Tulare. The City of Twentynine Palms and the City of Windsor do not have any publicly available information pertaining to the software provider/company they are currently partnered with. We then expanded our search to include government databases and software reviews databases that would indicate information on any collaborations made with CityGrows. However, we found no information on any contracts that have been made between CityGrows and the seven municipalities.

Sources
Sources

From Part 05
From Part 15
Quotes
  • "Accela, the leading provider of civic engagement solutions for government, announced today that Placer County, California has replaced its existing Kiva solution with the Accela Civic Platform. "
Quotes
  • "Accela, Inc., the leading provider of government enterprise software solutions, announced today that Tulare County, California has launched Accela VelocityHall(R), a public access portal that enables citizens and businesses to access many government services."
Quotes
  • "Approve a continuing expenditure agreement with Accela Inc., for a new five year term in an amount not to exceed $267,765, for Envision-Connect software and support services for the Health Services Agency (HSA) Environmental Health Services Division, and authorize the HSA Director to sign, as recommended by the Director of Health Services"
From Part 20
Quotes
  • "The Department enters the draft agreement into the contract module of the County’s integrated accounting and financial management OneSolutionTM software (Contract Module)."
Quotes
  • "The annual maintenance costs for the Town's enterprise resource software, New World Systems ($53,000/yr. x 82%; 18% is funded by the Building and Safety Division)."
Quotes
  • "At a minimum, there is a simple online payment function — usually a holdover from early 2000s-era technology that allows people to pay their parking tickets or taxes. Sometimes there’s a semi-digital building permit process, or a PDF form to print out at home…and bring to City Hall!"