Average Advertising Cost per Medium

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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: US

The average advertising cost per click in the digital medium in the US is $2.69, and the cost in the print medium is between $8 — $40 per mille. The spreadsheet contains all the information.

ADVERTISING COST BY MEDIUM

  • The average advertising cost per 30-second TV advertisement in the US is $342,000, while the cost in the radio medium is between $8 to $12 per mille.
  • The average advertising cost per full-page advertisement in a newspaper in the US is $113,000, while the cost per full page in a magazine is $250,000.
  • The average advertising cost per click in the digital medium in the US is $2.69, while the cost per mille for mobile advertising is between $1 to $5.


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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: China

While information on the average advertising cost for television and newspapers in China was not available, there was some data that was identified, including the average cost of advertising on the internet in China being $11.30 CPM (cost per mille). Below is an outline of the research strategies used to better understand why the information requested is publicly unavailable, as well as a deep dive into the findings. Complete details are also within the attached spreadsheet.

AVERAGE COSTS

  • The average cost of advertising on the internet in China is $11.30 CPM. (please refer to calculations)
  • The average cost of advertising on radio 30 seconds radio ad/per time in China is $2.0. (please refer to calculations)
  • The average cost of advertising on the cover gatefold of magazines in China is $159,525. The average cost of advertising on the first double page spread in China is $97,502. The average cost of advertising on second double page spread in China is $91,349. (please refer to calculations)
  • The average cost of outdoor advertising in China is $38,503 for 1 day. (please refer to calculations)

ADDITIONAL INSIGHTS:

  • The advertising industry in China has witnessed exponential development in the last several decades as companies are allocating more money to digital media and digital advertising.
  • About 86% of all multinational companies are doing advertisements on television in China and some agencies in China are also grabbing the attention of customers through digital advertisements.
  • According to Dentsu Aegis Network, the advertising spend in China is forecast to increase by 7% in 2019 which will be driven by the middle classes’ purchasing habits.
  • China’s ad spend declined for mediums like newspapers (28%), magazines (9%), and television (5.5%).
  • Pharmaceuticals was the top ad spend category in 2018 (advertisers spent more than RMB 125 billion), while entertainment and web Services were the fastest-growing sectors.

RESEARCH STRATEGY:

Despite our most diligent efforts, the research team was not able to locate average ad cost information for television and newspapers in China. This is likely because most of these costs are kept confidential within the concerned industries due to the competitive advantage concerns. To shed additional light on why the research team has determined these figures are not available and not triangulatable, we present an outline of our strategies and calculations below.

Our first strategy was to look for advertising industry reports in China. We looked for information on sites like Research and Markets, McKinsey, IBIS World, etc. We also dived into the Chinese counterparts of these sites to gain regional information, however, there was no such information found. The only data we could find was about the overview of the advertising industry in China, advertising trends, etc. and some of the reports were available only upon subscription.

The team's second strategy was to search for information on the websites of advertising agencies and associations in China like China Advertising Association, Shanghai Advertising Association, Havas China, and FCB China, among others. Our aim here was to look for reports, articles, and press releases that would have included average advertising pricing across different mediums. This strategy was not fruitful as there was no such information found. At most, we found information about the regulations of advertising, advertising festivals, etc.

Next, we looked for information in media publications and articles on sites like Marketing China, Market Me China, Jing Daily, China Daily, etc. hoping to find publications on the advertising industry that would include commentaries by industry experts and company spokespersons who divulged advertising cost information. This strategy worked to an extent since we were able to find the cost of advertising on social platforms and digital advertising costs. However, the information did not include all of the mediums.

At last resort, we attempted to triangulate the missing data for each of the mediums individually. For this, we tried gathering the pricing information as charged by the leading players for each medium. For example, to look for the average cost of advertising on the radio, we looked for information on costs for a few radio channels and then checked their plans. This gave us a fair idea of the prevailing market rates. We, then, averaged out findings for that medium to arrive at the average cost of advertising. The calculations for each medium using this method of triangulation are presented below. However, please note that this type of data was not available to triangulate costs for TV or newspaper ads.

INTERNET
The average CPM for digital ads in China is 80 Yuan. Since the costs are for digital ads, we have assumed that these ads will be served on internet media. Using a currency converter, 80 Yuan = 11.30 USD. Therefore, the average cost of advertising on the internet in China is $11.30 CPM.
RADIO
For a 30-second radio ad the costs mentioned, in 2015, are referenced below. *Please note: 2015 rates were the most recent published rates we could find and have assumed that the same rates are valid estimates considering the lack of online information.

Non-prime: $0.73
Prime: $8.86

Non-prime: $0.34
Prime: $1.29

Non-prime: $0.19
Prime: $0.63

The average cost of advertising on radio = (0.73 + 8.86 + 0.34+ 1.29+ 0.19+ 0.63)/6 = $2.0
Therefore the average cost of advertising on the radio in China is $2.00

MAGAZINES
Since there are various advertising costs mentioned based on the position of ads in various pages of magazines and there is no particular unit size, we have averaged advertising costs of some pages like a cover gatefold, first double page spread, and second double page spread; prices below.

1. Average cost of advertising on a cover gatefold:
Cost for Rayli Fashion & Beauty Magazine, 2019 Cover Gatefold: RMB 1,800,000
Cost of Rayli Home Magazine, 2019 Cover Gatefold: RMB 458,000
Average cost of advertising on Cover Gatefold of Magazine is = (1,800,000 + 458,000)/ 2= 1,129,000
Using currency a conversion calculator the cost in USD will be RMB 1,129,000= $159,525
Therefore, the average cost of advertising on a cover gatefold of a magazine in China is estimated to be $159,525.

2. Advertising on first double page spread:
Cost of advertising on First Double Page Spread of Fashion is RMB 1,000,000
Cost of advertising on First Double Page Spread of Home is RMB 380,000
Average cost of advertising on First Double Page Spread of Magazine is = (1,000,000 + 380,000)= 690,000
Using a currency converter the USD value for RMB 690,000= $97,502 USD
Therefore, the average cost of advertising on a first double page spread in China is $97,502.

3. Advertising on second double page spread:
Cost of advertising on Second Double Page Spread of Fashion is RMB 950,000
Cost of advertising on Second Double Page Spread of Home is RMB 343,000
Average cost of advertising on Second Double Page Spread of Magazine is = (950, 000 + 343,000)= 690,000
Using a currency converter the USD value for RMB 646,500= $91,349 USD
Therefore, the average cost of advertising on a second double page spread in China is $91,349.

OUTDOOR ADVERTISING
Below are some of the outdoor advertising costs in China.
Aerial Banner: RMB 195,000 for 1 day
Aerial Billboard: RMB 245,000 for 1 day
Skytaculair: RMB 300,000 for 1 day
Traditional Skywriting: RMB 350,000 for 1 day
Average cost of outdoor advertising in China = (195,000 + 245,000 + 300,000 + 350,000)/ 4= 272,500. Using a currency converter the average cost will be RMB 272,500 = $38,503 USD. Therefore, the average cost of outdoor advertising in China is $38,503 for 1 day.

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Part
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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Japan

The estimated average TV advertising cost in Japan per a 15-second commercial is USD 1,867.46, while the estimated average flyer advertising cost in US dollars per unit is USD 0.08. Our findings, calculations and explanations of how we approached this research have been outlined below. In the attached spreadsheet, the "Japan" tab has been filled with the available information.


  • The estimated average TV advertising cost in Japan per a 15-second commercial is USD 1,867.46. (calculated)
  • The estimated average newspaper advertising cost in Japan per posting (all pages) is USD 54,558.01. (calculated)
  • The estimated average flyer advertising cost in US dollars per unit is USD 0.08. (calculated)

Helpful findings

  • The average cost per click (CPC) for Instagram advertising in Japan is USD 1.48.
  • Average ad spend per internet user (2019) in Japan is USD 117.19.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

CALCULATIONS

Television

To find out the average advertising cost for TV, we used the average 15-second advertising costs per each leading broadcasting station in Japan. We calculated the average price per advertisement, assuming these are the standard rates across Japan, as follows:
  • 15-second advertisement cost on NTV = between 400,000 and 1,000,000 yen = ¥700,000, on average (400,000+1,000,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TBS TV = between 400,000 and 1,000,000 yen = ¥700,000, on average (400,000+1,000,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Fuji TV = between 400,000 and 1,000,000 yen = ¥700,000, on average (400,000+1,000,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TV Asahi = between 400,000 and 1,000,000 yen = ¥700,000, on average (400,000+1,000,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TV TOKYO =between 140,000 and 500,000 yen = ¥320,000 , on average (140,000+500,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Tokyo MX TV = 40,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TV Kanagawa = 40,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Chiba TV = 35,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TV Saitama = 30,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Tochigi Television = 25,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Gunma TV = 25,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Yomiuri TV = between 150,000 and 250,000 yen = ‭200,000‬ on average (150,000+250,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Daily Broadcast (TBS) = between 150,000 and 250,000 yen = ‭200,000‬ on average (150,000+250,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Kansai TV (Fuji TV) = between 150,000 and 250,000 yen = ‭200,000‬ on average (150,000+250,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Asahi Broadcast = between 150,000 and 250,000 yen = ‭200,000‬ on average (150,000+250,000/2)
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TV Osaka (TV Tokyo) = 35,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Sun TV = 35,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on KBS Kyoto = 35,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Biwako Broadcasting = 12,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on Nara TV = 15,000 yen
  • 15-second advertisement cost on TV Wakayama = 15,000 yen

The total cost of advertising on the above-listed TV stations: ¥4,262,000
The average cost of advertising on these stations is ¥202,952 (4,262,000/21).
This has been converted into USD using this currency converter.
Final value: USD 1,867.46

Newspapers

To find out the average newspaper advertising cost in Japan, we calculated the average advertisement price per posting of all the leading Japanese newspapers, as follows:

Advertisement prices per newspaper:

1. Asahi Shimbun = ¥39,855,000
2. Yomiuri Shimbun = ¥47,910,000
3. Mainichi Newspaper = ¥25,920,000
4. Nihon Keizai Shimbun = ¥20,400,000
5. Sankei newspaper= ¥13,950,000
6. Hokkaido newspaper = ¥7,395,000
7. Touo Nippo = ¥2,880,000
8. Daly Tohoku = ¥1,500,000
9. Iwate Daily = ¥2,790,000
10. Hebei Shimpo = ¥3,450,000
11. Akita Newspaper = ¥2,700,000
12. Yamagata newspaper = ¥2,760,000
13. Fukushima Minpo = ¥2,700,000
14. Fukushima Minyu = ¥2,250,000
15. Ibaraki newspaper = ¥2,040,000
16. Shimono newspaper = ¥2,595,000
17. Jomo newspaper = ¥2,475,000
18. Saitama newspaper = ¥1,995,000
19. Chiba Daily = ¥1,860,000
20. Tokyo newspaper = ¥6,360,000
21. Kanagawa newspaper = ¥2,070,000
22. Niigata Daily = ¥3,450,000
23. North Japan newspaper = ¥2,655,000
24. Hokugoku Newspaper = ¥3,165,000
25. Fukui newspaper = ¥2,415,000
26. Yamanashi Nichiichi Newspaper = ¥2,610,000
27. Shinano Mainichi Newspaper = ¥3,390,000
28. Gifu newspaper = ¥2,490,000
29. Shizuoka newspaper = ¥4,650,000
30. Chunichi Newspaper = ¥14,100,000
31. Kyoto newspaper = ¥3,450,000
32. Kobe newspaper = ¥4,050,000
33. Nihonkai Newspaper = ¥2,100,000
34. San-in Chuo Shimpo = ¥2,310,000
35. Sanyo newspaper = ¥3,225,000
36. Chinese newspaper = ¥3,810,000
37. Tokushima newspaper = ¥2,640,000
38. Shikoku newspaper = ¥2,430,000
39. Ehime newspaper = ¥2,685,000
40. Kochi newspaper = ¥2,460,000
41. West Japan newspaper = ¥5,985,000
42. Saga newspaper = ¥2,070,000
43. Nagasaki newspaper = ¥2,235,000
44. Kumamoto Daily Newspaper = ¥2,865,000
45. Oita Joint Newspaper = ¥2,730,000
46. Miyazaki Daily Newspaper = ¥2,700,000
47. Minami Nihon Shimbun = ¥2,730,000
48. Ryukyu Shimpo = ¥2,670,000
49. Okinawa Times = ¥2,670,000
Total: ¥290,595,000
Average: ¥5,930,510 per advertisement (290,595,000/49)
This has been converted into USD using this currency converter.
Final value: USD 54,558.01

Flyers

The average cost of advertising per flyer has been calculated as follows:

  • Newspaper insert flyer: 2.7 to 16 yen per flyer depending on size and distribution area, 9.35 on average (2.7+16/2)
  • Insert flyer: 3.8 to 6 yen depending on number of units of sheets, 4.9 yen on average (3.8+6/2)
  • Free paper insert flyer: 2.7 to 3.5 yen, 3.1 yen on average (2.7+3.5/2)
  • Enclosed flyer: 5 to 30 yen, 17.5 yen on average (5+30/2)

The average cost of advertising per flyer: 8.7 yen (9.35+4.9+3.1+17.5)
This has been converted into USD using this currency converter.
Final value: USD 0.08


METHODOLOGY

Regardless, we were unable to locate information required to triangulate the rest of the requested average medium advertisement prices. We determined this information is unavailable after searching for relevant data in the following ways:

As a first approach, we scanned major local and international statistical sites like Statista, Gallup, Gapminder, Statistics Bureau of Japan, among others, in order to locate pre-compiled data on this topic. Market research sources such as Aqua Insights and Markets&Markets were also searched, but the sources provided no relevant information on average advertising costs per medium. Instead, overall advertising expenditures per medium were available.

We shifted our strategy to check leading advertising agencies and associations like the Japan Advertising Agencies Association, the Japan BtoB Advertising Association, Dentsu, among others, but after extensive search, it was evident that these types of sources exclusively rely on total advertising costs across the country when it comes to spend per medium, rather than the average values.

We continued our search by scanning through leading strategy consulting sites such as McKinsey, Deloitte and KPMG, with the goal of gathering information surrounding the average general advertising pricing in the country. We also examined several local strategic consultancy agencies, such as Avanade, but no relevant data could be located. These sites provided information on the evolution of the advertising industry and the leading trends in Japan related to advertisements, rather than data on average costs.

As the last resort, we tailored our search to search for data on each of the mediums individually. Our goal was to gather as much pricing data as possible to calculate the average using several data points. While we were able to locate information on leading TV and newspaper advertising costs, as well as flyer advertising costs, no advertising data could be located for any of the other mediums under investigation. The lack of publicly available data could be attributed to the fact that this information is often kept confidential, due to competitive markets and possible local regulations.
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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: UK

On average, a 30-second TV advertisement will cost $7,664.58 in the UK, while a full-page newspaper advertisement will cost $69,949.32. In the attached spreadsheet, columns C and D have been filled with the available information. Our calculations, as well as approaches taken during research, have been outlined below.

  • On average, a 30-second TV advertisement will cost $7,664.58 in the UK. (calculated)
  • On average, a full-page newspaper advertisement will cost $69,949.32 in the UK. (calculated)
  • On average, a cinema advertisement will cost $85.94 in the UK. (calculated)
  • A radio station advertisement will cost $2.56 per thousand listeners. (calculated)
  • The average Google AdWords cost-per-click is $1.20 in the UK. (calculated)


RESEARCH STRATEGY

CALCULATIONS

TV

In order to calculate the average TV advertising spend in the UK, we calculated the average 30-second advertisement cost among leading TV stations in the UK, as follows:

  • ITV — daytime slots cost between £3,500 and £4,500, peak time slots cost between £10,000 and £33,000
  • Channel 4 — daytime slots cost between £1,000 and £2,000 while peak time slots cost between £10,000 and £20,000
  • Channel 5 — daytime slots cost between £800 and £1,600 while peak time slots cost between £2,500 and £4,500
  • Sky — daytime slots cost from £150 and £250, while peak time slots cost between £650 and £1,150

The average cost of a 30-second TV advertisement in the UK: £5,975 [(3,500+4,500+10,000+33,000+1,000+2,000+10,000+20,000+800+1,600+2,500+4,500+150+250+650+1,150)/16]

We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $7,664.58


News brands

  • Section-specific (run of section) advertising costs £90,090 in The Sunday Times.
  • A full-page colored advertisement costs £55,502 in The Sun.
  • A full page advertisement costs £18,000 in The Guardian.
The average advertising cost of a full-page advertisement in the leading UK news brands equals £54,531 [(90,090+55,502+18,000)/3]

We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $69,949.32

Magazine advertising

The Sheengate Media Group operates 7 renowned magazines within the UK and has four different rates, depending on the number of insertions (colored full-page advertisement), as follows:

One insertion: £1,155 per insertion
Four insertions: £1,040 per insertion
Six insertions: £981 per insertion
Twelve insertions: £924 per insertion

The average rate per full page color comes out to be: £1,025 [(1,155+1,040+981+924)/4]

We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $1,314.81

Cinema

Digital Cinema Media (DCM) operates 3,428 cinema screens at 522 different sites across the UK. Depending on the audience the advertisements are intended for, the rates vary as follows:

"Audience Gurantee Pack" (advertisements reaching the broad audience)
  • CPT (Cost per thousand admissions): £60
"Adult AGP" (advertisements intended for adults aged over 16)
"Premium AGP" (advertisements aimed at affluent individuals)
"Male/Female AGP" (advertisements aimed at a specific gender):
"Youth AGP" (advertisements aimed at young adults aged 16 to 34)
"Alcohol/Gambling AGP" (advertising aimed at individuals aged over 18)
Based on these rates, the average cost of cinema advertising in the UK is £67 per thousand admissions [(60+65+70+70+70+65)/6]

We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $85.94

Paid Search

The UK average Google Adwords cost-per-click is between £0.66 and £1.32 which means the overall average is £0.94 [£(0.66 + 1.32)/2]

We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $1.20


Other digital means

Guardian's digital rates are as follows:

  • digital billboard and web banner advertising: £46,000/day
  • digital billboard, web banner and website background replacement: £62,500/day
  • custom responsive formats: £80,000/day

The average cost of advertising for these types of advertising means comes out to be £62,833/day £[(46,000+62,500+80,000)/3]

We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $80,588

Outdoor advertising


The average cost of billboard advertising is around £200 per week for a standard 48-sheet hoarding. We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $256.5

Radio advertising

Radio advertisements are charged £2 per thousand listeners at the time of commercial airing. We converted this into USD using this currency converter. Final value: $2.56


METHODOLOGY

Despite an extensive search, no information pertaining to "Pure Play Digital Display" or "Pure Play Digital Classified" could be traced.

We examined various UK advertising networks, such as Ad Speed, Pulse 360, Burst Media, E-Pilot, among others, hoping to locate pre-compiled charts that indicate the average advertising spends per medium, but no relevant information was located. Instead, the available information focused on the general best practices and effective methodologies when it comes to these types of advertising mediums, rather than data on advertising spend.

We moved on to check if benchmarking studies have been done by globally reputable research and consulting agencies such as Deloitte, Gartner, PWC, Accenture, McKinsey etc. Our goal was to find benchmarking studies on the topic of digital performance when it comes to digital advertising means, hoping we could locate cost-per-unit benchmarks, perhaps correlated with the effectiveness of digital medium usage. Even though information on effective usage of particular advertising mediums was available, again, no data has been pre-compiled specifically on the topic of "Pure Play" advertising which is why this strategy was unsuccessful.

Finally, we checked sources that provide marketing news information on the topic of digital advertising in the UK. In these sources, we looked for statistical insights in terms of cost-points corresponding to diverse companies and advertisers. We searched interviews with digital marketing gurus, industry experts and marketing heads of advertising consultancy companies. Some sources searched include the Marketing Week, The Drum, Campaignlive, Wired, among others. Even though this strategy helped us obtain the required data for all the other advertising mediums, nothing specific to "Pure Play" advertising could be located and we were unable to specifically determine advertising means that would fall into the category of "Pure Play".
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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Germany

In Germany, the average cost of internet advertising per internet user in 2019 is $216.87. We have provided the details on this and other media such as TV, newspapers, cinema and outdoors below and in the 'Germany' tab of the attached spreadsheet.

OVERVIEW OF AVERAGE ADVERTISING COST IN GERMANY BY MEDIUM

CALCULATIONS

OUTDOOR
  • The average cost of outdoor advertising per day and space for different segments in 2018 is as follows:
  • The average cost of outdoor advertising per day and space is therefore : ($21.3 + $42.24 + $24.74 + $82.23 + $24.74 + $1.32) = $196.57
INTERNET
  • The average cost of internet advertising per internet user for different segments in 2019 is as follows:
  • The average cost of internet advertising per internet user is therefore : ($18.06 + $24.47 + $41.47 + $43.45 + $89.42) = $216.87

RESEARCH STRATEGY

While the research was straightforward for the most part, we were not able to find information on the average advertising cost for radio and magazines. We started our research by looking through statistics in websites such as Statista, eMarketer and VauNet, among others. However, this strategy proved futile as the only information we got from these sources was that regarding the total ad spend for each medium, or the revenue generated from advertising.

Next, we checked reports from industry-related websites and news sites such as PwC, Twipe Mobile, InterNations, and EGTA, among others. Once again, we were not able to find the required information from these sources. We were only able to find insights on digital audio and magazines, which all fall under internet advertising.

Lastly, we tried to triangulate the information by looking for the top radio stations and magazines in Germany, then checking how much they charged for advertising. While this strategy helped us to find the required information for newspaper advertising, we were still not able to find the information for radio and magazines because most of the websites including Radio.de and TheLocal.de require one to contact them for advertising rates. We have therefore entered "N/A" in the corresponding cells for radio and magazines.
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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Brazil

TV advertising in Brazil costs up to $3,190.192 per second while the digital advertising channel's cost is $0.08 per click. All the information has been entered in the attached spreadsheet.
TELEVISION:
  • TV advertising spots in Brazil cost up to $3,190.192 per second. [Estimated]
  • A 30-second spot during the more popular telenovelas in Brazil costs up to R$400,000 or $95,705.76.

DIGITAL:
  • The digital advertising channel cost in Brazil is $0.08 per click.
OUT-OF-HOME:
CITIES:
  • The national average cost to advertise in cities with 40 insertions is $20.22 per inch. [Estimated]
  • National average cost to advertise in cities with 40 insertions is $303.33 for a 15 screen and $606.65 for a 30 screen.
BUSES:
  • National average cost to advertise in buses is $18.9 per inch screen. [Estimated]
  • The national average cost to advertise in buses is $283.50 for a 15 screen and $567 for a 30 screen.
RADIO:
  • N/A
NEWSPAPER:
  • N/A
MAGAZINE:
  • The Soul Brazil full page 7,37 X 9,50 (4 colors, book paper) advertisement costs $695.
  • The Soul Brasil magazine is a pioneer in the adoption of the “Go Green” concept, with U.S. and worldwide distribution.
CINEMA:
  • N/A [7]

Research Strategy:

To determine the average advertising cost for TV and out-of-home medium for Brazil, we began by going through industry reports from ZIGT Media and McKinsey. Although we were able to identify information regarding television, digital, out-of-home, and magazine s costs, there was no information available on the advertising costs of radio, newspapers, and cinemas in Brazil. We were, however, able to find the advertising cost for Soul Brasil, as it is a Brazilian print magazine that is available in both the U.S. and worldwide. We then tried to use the advertising costs for radio, newspaper and cinema leaders to provide an average estimate for each medium. For this we used Appnexus, Dentsu Aegis Network, and BBC as segment leaders. We went through their respective websites to find their advertising costs but they were available only upon request. As a final resort, we tried to determine the average advertising cost for the Latin American market by going through industry reports such as eMarketer and Pressreference. The idea here was to determine the average cost of the Latin American market and find the share that Brazil holds in the market to determine the average advertisement cost for radios, newspapers, and cinemas in the country. Unfortunately, most of the information pertained to the number of satellite subscribers, the number of radio receivers, the number of non-daily newspapers, and the total newspaper ad receipts.

CALCULATIONS:

TELEVISION:
  • A 30-second spot during the more popular telenovelas in Brazil costs up to R$400,000 or USD 95,705.76.
  • Therefore, the per second cost = $95,705.76) / 30 = $3,190.192 per second.
OUT-OF-HOME:
CITIES:
  • The national average cost to advertise in cities with 40 insertions amounts to $303.33 for a 15 screen and $606.65 for a 30 screen.
  • Therefore, the per inch () cost in cities = $303.33 / 15 = $20.22 per inch.
BUSES:
  • The national average cost to advertise in buses is $283.50 for a 15 screen and $567 for a 30 screen.
  • Therefore, per inch () cost in buses = $283.50 / 15 = $18.9 per inch.

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Part
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Average Advertising Cost by Medium: France

In France, the average advertising cost for a television ad is approximately $76,000, while out-of-home (OOH) advertising is roughly $3-$5 per mile and digital OOH ads (DOOH) are around $8-$20 per mile. Complete details are presented below and within the attached spreadsheet.

AVERAGE ADVERTISING COST

RESEARCH STRATEGY:

Most of the information required was not readily available and required triangulation. Sources in English were also not providing the necessary information, therefore, we conducted most of the research in French (hence, the French sources). Each triangulation is outlined below.

Internet: Information about CPC in France was not available, however, we found a source that estimated that the CPC in the country was 40% of the cost in the United States, consequently if the American CPC is $2.92, 40% would be $1.16.

Television: Like any other country, the cost of a TV ad in France will vary according to the channel, time slot, and program. We located two different references to answer this question; one that estimates the cost for several shows and the TF1 price grid (TF1 is a French network television channel). To determine the average price, we found the average between the costs for different time slots (during the week) using the TF1 pricing: 64+74+64+68+74/5 = 68.800 euros or 76,100 dollars. That being said, TV ads in France can go as low as 60 euros and as high as 280,000, considering these numbers are for more extreme circumstances, we believe the TF1 price would be a better indicator of an average cost.

Radio: Broadcasting a radio commercial depends on the same levers as television. We located one source with the ad costs for three different stations, we then calculated the average for each station and the average between them.
Inter average: 3,630
FranceInfo average: 1,205
France Bleu average: 1,089
Average: (3,630+1,205+1,089)/3 = 1,974 euros or 2,187 dollars

Print: We used the same strategy for both, we obtained at least three samples of popular outlets for each, calculated the average ad price and then the average between the companies. We included all sizes of ads to compose the average, hoping to obtain an overall average, instead of average per full page, retro, half page, etc.
*NEWSPAPERS
CNEWS: 82,500
Le Figaro: 37,000
The Parisian: 70,525
=Average: (82,500+37,000+70,525)/3 = 63,341 euros or 70,146 dollars
*MAGAZINES
Vogue: 35,000
Elle: 48,000
L'Express: 46,500
=Average: (35,000+48,000+46,500)/3 = 43,166 euros or 47,800 dollars.
Part
08
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Part
08

Average Advertising Cost by Medium: South Korea

The Average Advertising Cost for mobile ads in South Korea is $0.42 per click. The available information is provided in the attached spreadsheet, South Korea tab.

RELEVANT INSIGHTS

  • According to eMarketer, mobile game application cost, that is, cost per install on the basis of platform including Amazon, Google Play, and iOS is $0.88.
  • In South Korea, the cost per install for iOS is $1.9 per install.
  • In 2018, mobile ad spending was $2.67 billion, whereas for ad spending for TV was $2.48 billion.
  • South Korea secured 7th position in terms of ad expenditure, which cost $13,705 million.
  • As per Adage, Samsung, based in South Korea, is the world’s largest advertiser, spending $11.2 billion on advertising and sales promotion in 2017.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

Information regarding average advertising costs for TV, Cable and IPTV, Non-mobile online platforms, and newspapers are not available. This is mostly because the information that is available is more focused on advertising spend by different mediums.

The research team started by looking at the industry reports such as Deloitte, Market & Market, and GrandView Research to find the information regarding mobile ads, TV, cable and IPTV, non-mobile online platforms, and newspapers. But there was no information available regarding advertising costs for these mediums. Only information regarding advertising market were available.

Next, we looked and checked statistical sources such as Statista, World Stream, among others to garner any information regarding the cost per advertisement for mobile ads, TV, Cable and IPTV, non-mobile online platforms, and newspapers. Although we were able to find the average advertising cost per click for South Korea, which is 72 % less than the US average, The figures for the US were also available. Mobile ads per click were found on the basis of the calculation shown below, However, there was no information available specific to TV, cable and IPTV, non-mobile online platforms, and newspapers.

In our third strategy, we tried to triangulate the information for the average advertising cost of TV, cable and IPTV, non-mobile online platforms, and newspapers in South Korea by looking for industry leaders in each segment and using their respective advertising costs and summing them to provide an average estimate for each medium. We looked through Press Reference, App Nexus, and learng2. The sources mentioned that Samsung, which is based in South Korea, is the world’s largest advertiser, spending $11.2 billion on advertising and sales promotion in 2017, but no other information regarding industry leaders and their respective advertising costs are mentioned, which could provide an estimate or each medium.

We also broadened the scope and looked for the average advertising cost for the East Asian market from eMarketer, Eleven Myanmar, among others. The idea here was to check for the average cost of the East Asian market that includes the South Korea market and to check the share of the South Korean market to determine the average cost TV, cable, and IPTV, non-mobile online platforms, and newspapers in South Korea. But this strategy also failed as the advertising costs were not available, but we were able to determine that in 2018, mobile ad spending would surpass that of TV for the first time, at $2.67 billion vs. $2.48 billion and mobile advertising costs in South Korea is 2.8 trillion won, a 26.4 percent increase from the previous year, becoming the most preferred advertising platform for the second year in a row. Cable and IPTV came second at 1.96 trillion won in spending, followed by non-mobile online platforms with 1.59 trillion won, terrestrial TV with 1.44 trillion won, and newspapers at fifth with 1.42 trillion won.
  • Won is the currency of South Korea.
Lastly, we explored sources older than 24 months to see if they have mentioned any information on the advertising costs, mainly because such information are not published annually and/or the average estimates or projections might be presented in older reports. But this strategy also did not yield any fruitful results.

CALCULATION OF AVERAGE ADVERTISING COST FOR MOBILE ADS:

The Average Cost Per Click for Mobile Advertisement in the US is between $1 and $2
So it would be $1+$2/2 = $1.5
As mentioned, South Korea has an average CPC, which is 72 % less than the US average.
So, The Average Cost Per Click in South Korea = $1.5 * (1-72%) = $0.42 per click
Average Advertising Cost for Mobile Ads per click = $0.42 per click
Part
09
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Part
09

Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Australia

The average advertising cost for each medium has been calculated and presented in the attached spreadsheet. It has been observed that each medium has a different unit of representing the cost and thus the overall average cost of advertising cannot be deduced or calculated due to this variation.

OVERVIEW

YOUR RESEARCH TEAM APPLIED THE FOLLOWING STRATEGY

The research was initiated by searching for data through pre-compiled sources like statista, marketsandmarkets, statisticbrain, and other similar research and statistical websites. It was observed that most of these mentioned the average advertising spend for the designated medium no mentioning of the costs of advertising. This was followed by a thorough search through various Australian Advertising Forums & Associations like ADMA, IAA, AANA, with the hope of getting information related to industry averages. This approach also failed to yield relevant data related to the Ad costs for various mediums.
As a next step, each medium was dealt with individually and thus a search for the average advertising cost for each category in Australia was searched. Due to a dearth of pre-compiled data here as well, the triangulation approach was adopted through which we deduced the Ad costs from various players within each category. Since there is always a market competition for pricing at each of the categories, it has been fairly assumed that other players within the respective mediums will have a similar price range. Attention has been paid to consider variations in pricing within the same categories like budget/medium/advanced advertising on TV or local vs. regional advertising through classifieds or radio. We have thus come up to a fair average of Ad costs across each of the medium through the below-mentioned calculations. We have further used current currency conversion rates for converting AUD to USD.
As regards digital field, the average advertising cost (C10 and D10) could not be quoted since the various subcategories like search engine ads, classified ads, display ads, have different units of representation. This calculates the complete digital category quite vague.

CALCULATIONS

TELEVISION
The budget broadcast costs $2,395+gst, while medium broadcast costs $5,450+gst and the advanced broadcast costs $9,950+gst.
We thus average out the TV Ad cost in Australia as ($2,395 + $5,450 + $9,950)/3 = $5932+gst.
Applying currency conversion, AUD 5932+gst = $4,010+gst.

NEWSPAPER
The newspaper ad cost rate card on Pg 5, which displays the price of displaying Ads based on the page coverage. The price begins from $2,978.80 for the smallest M2x2 size and goes up to $101,279.20 for a full-page size Ad.
Thus, the average cost lies between (2,978.80 + 101,279.20)/2 = AUD 52,129. Converting this to USD, we get the price as $35,215 per Ad (Incl. of GST).

MAGAZINE
The average cost of Advertising in Magazine ranges between $198 to $1,100 based on the size of Ads and the number of Ads. This can further vary from +10% to +25% depending on the location of the Ad ranging from the Inside Front Cover to Outside Back cover.
Thus, the average cost is ($198 + $1,100)/2 = AUD 649 per Ad. This, when converted, will be $438 per Ad.

RADIO
A radio ad can cost between $2,000 to $5,000 per week for smaller regional radio stations while the same can cost around $10,000 for a capital city radio station. Thus, an average radio Ad cost in Australia will be ($2,000 + $10,000)/2 = AUD 6000 per Ad per Week. This will be $4,051 per Ad per Week.

CINEMA
The cinema advertising rates vary based on regional or metro location. Thus, where a regional Ad costs $2450+GST for 15,000 guaranteed views, the same costs $3535+GST for 25,000 guaranteed views. To get these figures at a comparable unit we compute the cost for both locations for 10,000 guaranteed views.
Thus, for regional cinema Ads we have (10,000 x 2450)/15,000 = $1633.33 for 10,000 guaranteed views. Similarly, for metro location cinema Ads we have (10,000 x 3535)/25,000) = $1414 for 10,000 guaranteed views.
The average of above two comes out at AUD 1,524 for 10,000 guaranteed views. This figure stands at $1,029 per 10,000 guaranteed views.

OOH
OOH Ad costs are represented as CPM (cost per thousand). The average CPM for OOH in Australia is higher than other comparable markets and stands at AUD 12.20. This when converted, we have the cost as $8.23 CPM.

SEARCH ENGINE ADS
The Ad cost varies between $30-$90 per click based on content and location. Thus, when converted, we have the range at $20 to $60 per click. The average of this is $40 per click.

DISPLAY ADVERTISING
The average cost of display ads ranging between $1 to $6 for Text Ads and starting at $10 for 3 seconds of Video Ad. Thus, when converted, we have the Text display Ads cost averaged at $2.4 per click and the video Ad costing $6.75 per 3 sec.

ONLINE CLASSIFIED ADS
Online classified ads cost between $286 & $330 per listing (averaging 6-8 photos/ 500 words description). This averages to AUD 308 per listing. Hence, when converted, we have this as $208 per listing.
Part
10
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Part
10

Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Canada

The average advertising cost for a digital medium is $0.7 to $1.4 while that of Radio is $20 to $100.

The link to the spreadsheet is here.

1. Digital

  • In the US, the average CPC is between $1 and $2 and Canada's average CPC is 29% less than the US average.

2. Online TV

  • The average advertising cost for the CTVs (CTV Ottawa, CTV Kitchener, CTV Montreal, CTV Winnipeg) is $110,000.
  • The average advertising cost for the Global Television Network is $100,000.

3. Radio

  • The estimated cost of running a 30-second ad about 20 times a week for a year can be roughly $400 per week in Hamilton. In Ontario, its $600 and $1,200 per week in Saskatchewan. And, it costs about $2,000 per week in Vancouver.

4. Newspaper

5. General Magazines

RESEARCH STRATEGY

Despite an extensive search, we were unable to find the average advertising cost for traditional, pay TV, and free-to-air TV. We started our research by looking through websites such as Statista, eMarketer, and VauNe. This proved futile because we only found the total ad spend for each medium or the revenue generated from advertising.

Next, we checked reports from industry-related websites and news sites such as PwC, Twipe Mobile, InterNations, and EGTA. From these sources, we only found insights about digital audio and magazines under internet advertising.

Lastly, we tried to triangulate the information by looking for the top Pay TV stations and free to air TV stations in Canada and discover how much they charged for advertising. While this strategy helped us to find the required information for Online TV advertising, we were still not able to find the information for pay TV stations and the free to air TV stations because most of the websites of the required TV stations such as Videotron and Rogers Media requires one to contact them for advertising rates. Further, they only have the subscription fees for the channels captured.

TRIANGULATION

1. Digital

  • In the US, the average CPC is between $1 and $2 and Canada has an average CPC which is 29% less than the US average.
  • Hence, the average CPC for Canada becomes 0.71% of $1 and 1.42% of $2. Thus, the digital average advertising cost becomes $0.71 to $1.42 per click.

2. Online TV

  • The average advertising cost for the CTVs (CTV Ottawa, CTV Kitchener, CTV Montreal, CTV Winnipeg) is $110,000.
  • The average advertising cost for the Global Television Network is $100,000.
  • Thus, the average of the market — [(110,000/4)+ (100,000)]/2 = $105,000 per 30 second ad

3. Radio

  • The lowest cost is $200 and the highest is $2000 per week. Hence, running an advert per week becomes an average of $20 to $100 per 30-second ad.
Part
11
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Part
11

Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Italy

The average advertising cost by medium in Italy was calculated at €57,195.83 per 30 seconds TV ad, €8 per 30 seconds radio spot, €2,191.66 per newspaper ad, €1,200 per magazine ad, €2,266.07 per cinema ad, €236.66 per day on billboard/outdoor ad, and €0.24 per click on digital ad.

This information was added to the attached spreadsheet. The details of our findings and calculations are included below.

TELEVISION

  • From €33,000 to €90,000 on national TV channels.
  • The cost of a teletext ranges from €3,500 to €8,500.
  • Local TV stations have individual prices with a starting price of €1,000.
  • Prices may vary per length, broadcast hour, day, and event. For example, during the Sanremo Festival, a 30 seconds ad running from 9 to 10 pm on all five days of the event had a cost of almost €1 million.
  • In 2018, a commercial of 30 seconds broadcast nationally during the Maria De Filippi talent show had a price of €77,000 in April, and in May, when the competition was ending, had a price of €86,000 and more if the commercial was scheduled between a challenge and a song.
  • A national commercial of 30 seconds during the news of Antonio Ricci costs between €82,500 and €94,000 and a one-minute commercial can cost €142,000 if it is broadcast simultaneously in 21 national channels.
  • During the "Che tempo che fa" show with millions of viewers, a 15 seconds commercial can cost between €44,000 and €51,600.

RADIO

NEWSPAPER

  • The advertising price on local newspapers in Italy, without including VAT is €5,000 for the full page, €2,800 for half a page, and €1,600 for a quarter of a page.
  • The price on national newspapers without including VAT, is €1,500 for the full page and €1,000 for half a page.

MAGAZINE

CINEMA

OUTDOOR

DIGITAL

RESEARCH STRATEGY

While we searched through global articles, most of the information available was located in pages from Italian sources. To understand the content, we made use of advanced online translation tools on every website.

We began by looking for the average advertising costs per each medium in Italy through readily available reports and articles. However, while we found enough data points to calculate each average, the official average cost was not available. Our calculations for each medium are detailed below:

CALCULATIONS

Television

To calculate the average price of TV advertising in Italy, we began by calculating the average price per unit and then the average price from those units as follows:

National TV no estimated time (€33,000 + €90,000)/2 = €61,500
Local TV no estimated time = €1,000
30 seconds national TV (€77,000 + €86,000 + €82,500 + €94,000)/4 = €84,875
One minute national TV = €142,000
15 seconds national TV (€44,000 + €51,600)/2 = €‭‬47,800
Teletext (€3,500 + €8,500)/2 = €‭‬6,000

Average TV advertising:
(National TV no time frame estimated average €61,500 + local TV no time frame €1,000 + 30 seconds national TV €84,875 + one minute national TV €142,000 + 15 seconds national TV €‭‬47,800 + teletext €‭‬6,000)/6 = €57,195.83

Radio

To calculate the average price of radio advertising we began by calculating the unit price of each category as follows, everything was calculated on a spot of 30 seconds since the cost for other lengths will vary 20-30% from this price.
Then, we calculated the unit price per spot dividing the total price between the days and the daily frequency using the following formula. Example: (€675/15 days)/5 times a day = €9 per spot.

12,000-85,000 listeners during one day of publicity starts at €200
160,000 listeners: five times a day during 15 days = €675 or €9 per spot.
160,000 listeners: five times a day during 180 days = €7,200 or €8 per spot.
160,000 listeners: ten times a day during four days = €360 or €9 per spot.
85,000 listeners: five times a day during 15 days = €600 or €8 per spot.
85,000 listeners: five times a day during 180 days = €5,400 or €6 per spot.
85,000 listeners: ten times a day during four days = €320 or €8 per spot.

To calculate the average cost per package, we categorized them by four, 15, and 180 days. Then to calculate the average of all packages, we calculated the average of all prices, days, times per day, and listeners.

Based on this information, the price per spot varies between €6 and €9 or an average of €8 per unit. However, radio publicity is sold by daily/weekly packages, taking into account its frequency. So the average price of a package is €2,107.857 for an average time of 51.5 days, aired 7.5 times a day on a radio station with 85,600 listeners.

Categorized per day, the average cost of a package is €637.5 for 15 days, €6300 for 180 days, €340 for four days, and €200 for one day.

Newspaper

To calculate the average cost of advertising publicity, we compared the prices of national and local newspapers between all advertising sizes, and calculated the total average from these values as follows:
Local newspapers: €5,000 for the full page, €2,800 for half a page, and €1,600 for a quarter of a page.
National newspapers: €1,500 for the full page and €1,000 for half a page.

We calculated the average of local and national newspapers dividing the sum of all its values between all units, and then did the same to calculate the total average:

Local: (€5,000 for the full page + €2,800 for half a page + €1,600 for a quarter of a page)/3 = €3,133.33
National: (€1,500 for the full page + €1,000 for half a page)/2 = €1,250.
Total average: (€3,133.33 of local newspapers + €1,250 of national newspapers)/2 = €2,191.66

Magazine

To calculate the average cost of magazine advertising, we made a sum every format prize and divided the total by the number of formats, as follows:

(€2,100 + €2,500 for double-page + €1,250 + €3,000 for full-page + €1,100 + €1,200 for two-thirds of the page + €850 for half a page + €600 for a third of the page + €300 for a sixth of the page + €500 for two sixths of a page + €100 + €900 for different size formats)/12 = €1,200

Cinema

To determine the average cost of advertising through cinemas, we searched through blogs, articles, and the websites of Italy's movie theaters; however, the prices were provided only by request (Rome Cinema, CBN Comunicazione, and Il Tuo Pubbliccitario). Then, we searched for average global prices and found the average cost in dollars.

We began by converting these values to euros using an online calculator, and then calculated the average cost by making a sum of all values and dividing the total between the six:

15 seconds: $1,000 to $2,000 or €906.43 to €1,812.86
30 seconds: $2,000 to $3,000 or €1,812.86 to €2,719.29
60 seconds: $3,000 to $4,000 or €2,719.29 to €3,625.72

(€906.43 + €1,812.86 + €1,812.86 + €2,719.29 + €2,719.29 + €3,625.72)/6 = €2,266.07

Outdoors

To calculate the average price of outdoors advertising, we made a sum of the price per outdoor ad and then divided between the six prices as follows.

6x3 meters: €140, €150, or €200 per day.
6x6 mt.: €450 per day.
12x3 mt.: €450 per day.
140x200 cm.: €30 per day.

Average: (€140 +€150 + €200+ €450 + €450 + €30)/6 = €236.66 per day

Digital

Finally, to calculate the average price of digital advertising, we calculated the average of impressions a company can buy in Italy for €30,000 and then divided the number between €30,000 to determine the value per unit. We did the same for the average price per clicks.

IMPRESSIONS/VIEWS:
Facebook and Instagram Ads: 750,000,000 impressions
Twitter Ads: 3,000,000 impressions
YouTube: 500,000 views
Google Display Network: 100,000,000 Impressions
DEM: 1,3000,000 B2B emails or 2,500,000 B2C emails views

Average impressions: (750,000,000+3,000,000+500,000+100,000,000+1,3000,000+2,500,000)/6 = ‭142,883,333.33 impressions or views for a digital ad investment of €30,000 in Italy.
Average cost: €30,000 / ‭142,883,333.33 impressions/views = €0.0002099 per digital impression/view.

CLICKS:
Facebook and Instagram Ads: 200,000 click
Google Ads: 50,000 clicks

Average clicks: (200,000+50,000)/2 = 125,000 average number of clicks.
Average cost: €30,000 / 125,000 = €0.24 per click.

Every average cost and unit was added in the respective columns of the "Italy" tab of the attached spreadsheet.
Part
12
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Part
12

Average Advertising Cost by Medium: India

The average cost per click of digital adverts (such as Facebook ads) in India is $0.12. The average price of print advertising (classified newspaper advert) in India is US$0.813916 per square cm. Additional insights into the cost in United States dollars for various advertisement media in India are in the attached spreadsheet.

TV ADVERTISING

  • The average TV advertising cost in India is INR 500 to INR 6600 per 10 seconds.
  • The average cost is (500+6600)/2 = INR3550 per 10 seconds. This value converts to US$49.6573 per 10 seconds or US$4.96573 per second of ad time.

PRINT ADVERTISING

  • The various advertising rates when booked online to advertise in a print newspaper in India with millions of copies in circulation are as follows:

RADIO

  • The cost of a 10 seconds advertising spot via radio in India varies based on time of the day and slot, ranging from Rs. 200 to Rs. 2000 (per 10 seconds).
  • The cost of a radio advertisement averages at (200+2000)/2 = Rs 1,100 per 10 seconds. This value converts to US$15.3880 per 10 seconds or US1.5388 per second of ad time.

CINEMA

  • The average cost of 10 seconds per week (static and video) ad in an Indian cinema, according to Adslate, is INR2880.
  • This value converts to US$40.2876 per 10 seconds or US$4.02876 per second.

OUTDOOR

  • The cost of an outdoor digital ad (hoarded ad) in India falls within the range between INR100,000 to INR180,000 per billboard per year based on location and averaged as follows.
  • Airport road, Pune: INR100,000
  • Alka Chowk, Pune : INR150,000
  • Aundh, Pune : INR125,000
  • Banerroad, Pune: INR180,000
  • Banerroadside, Pune: INR120,000
  • Banerroadway, Pune: INR100,000
  • Banerstreet, Pune: INR120,000
  • This averages up as (100,000+150,000+125,000+180,000+120,000 +100,000 +120,000)/7 = INR127857 per billboard per year.
  • This value converts to US$1,787.48 per billboard per year. (Assuming the billboard rent is paid yearly)

DIGITAL

  • The cost per click of digital adverts in India is $0.12.

RESEARCH STRATEGY

The research included advertisement agency publications such as Lead Guru. An investigation was conducted to uncover the average advertising cost in US dollars for various media such as television, print, radio, cinema, outdoor, and digital. Uncovered insights revealed the average cost per click of digital adverts (such as Facebook ads) in India as $0.12. There were no average costs published for the other items of interest. Further research was conducted to uncover the individual cost of a television ad, print ad, radio ad, and so on for various cities in India for an average to be computed. The researched ad agency publication did not publish such information.

The research reviewed credible academic/scholarly publications such as Sage Journals. This strategy investigated the average duration of television, print, radio, and cinema adverts in India and their costs. Insights revealed that the average length of ads in India, such as a TV ad, is over 60 seconds in duration. Further investigation to uncover the cost associated with the 60 seconds TV ad failed to reveal any helpful finding. The uncovered scholarly publications did not publish such data.

The study also included several companies that sell slots meant for advertising on behalf of television, print, radio, cinema, and outdoor ad industry. This strategy reviewed the average ad price ranges for the advert categories of interest. Resources reviewed included Ads2Publish, (a company selling newspaper classified ads slots). Ad2Publish did not reveal the overall average prices of adverts in newspapers. Another strategy investigated the ad prices for print media editions and sizes of various adverts. This strategy uncovered about 11 available advertising options, ad positions, and the corresponding cost per square cm. The average price was computed.

The research investigated unit prices of various advert media in India, and their averages computed. For clarity, each calculation is highlighted under a related headline. An online converter was used to convert to United States dollars. This step was necessary where uncovered costs were in Indian rupees. The study assumes that the calculated averages represent the advertising costs in India via a specific medium.
Part
13
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Part
13

Average Advertising Cost by Medium: Mexico

The calculated average advertising costs per medium in Mexico are MEX$‭201,203‬ for 20 seconds TV ad, MEX$5,331.58 per ad unit in newspapers, MEX$17,284 per unit in magazines, MEX$891 per radio spot, MEX$29,500 per OOH unit per month, MEX$48,006 per cinema spot per theater, and USD$0.06 per click on digital advertising.

The values in US dollars were included in the attached spreadsheet. Find below a summary of our findings and calculations.

TELEVISION

  • The cost of a 20 seconds ad spot in Televisa, the biggest TV corporation in Mexico, is calculated based on the rating points of the time/show where it will air.
  • The price varies per rating, time, and date, being the first quadmester (four-months period) of the year the cheapest, and the third quadmester the most expensive.
  • The prices range from MEX$184,721 to MEX$2,423,887 for 20 seconds ads.
  • During the first quadmester, the average price is MEX$173,243; during the second quadmester, the average cost of a TV ad is MEX$196,654; and during the third quadmester, the average price is MEX$234,112.

NEWSPAPER

MAGAZINES

RADIO

CINEMA

OOH

  • Out-of-home advertising in Mexico includes billboards, mobile/car ads, digital billboards, MUPIs, bridge ads, superQ screens, static bus and metro billboards, etc.
  • The price of a billboard ranges between MEX$12,000 and MEX$100,000 for a one-month contract and varies by the size of the ad, location, campaign length, complexity, etc.
  • The price to rent MUPIs range between MEX$1,000 and MEX$5,000.

DIGITAL

RESEARCH STRATEGY

To identify the average advertising cost by each medium in Mexico, we searched through financial articles, analysis, and industry reports of advertising in Mexico. Most sources had information in Spanish, so we used advanced online translation tools to understand the cost per medium.
We initially searched for an already established average cost; however, this was not available. Instead, we used costs and category prices from different sources for each medium to calculate the average. For every average, we provided the original value in Mexican pesos in our brief, and the converted cost to US dollars, using an online calculator, in the attached spreadsheet.

We were unable to locate the cost of cinema advertising in Mexico. We searched it through articles and financial posts, in English and Spanish sources. While we found that there are two main cinemas in the country, we found no information about the advertising cost.

Next, we tried to calculate the average price, as we did with most mediums, by searching through the blogs and websites of both cinemas, Cinepolis and Cinemex, to look for the price ranges per advertising. However, none of them had public information regarding their publicity spot prices.

As our third step, we looked through the websites of different advertising companies in Mexico to see if they offered cinema spots. However, we found no information regarding that.

As our final attempt, we searched global reports for price comparisons with other countries. We found that Mexico's Cinepolis is part of the Global Cinema Advertising Association Sawa, and as such, they manage their advertising processes. We couldn't locate Sawa's official prices but found the average spot price that companies from the same association, like Digital Cinema, charge and assumed that since they manage all these companies globally, their prices are similar. We calculated an estimated cost from there.

CALCULATIONS

TELEVISION
To calculate the average price of a TV ad in Mexico, we made a sum of all quadmesters' average prices and divided the total between the three as follows:

(Average of first quadmester MEX$173,243 + average of second quadmester MEX$196,654 + average of third quadmester MEX$234,112)/3 = MEX$‭201,203‬ average cost of 20 seconds ad spot on television or USD$10,474.

NEWSPAPER
To calculate the average price of Newspaper ads in Mexico, we made a sum of all price ranges from each newspaper, and divided the total between the 12 ranges.

El Universal: MEX$3,932 to MEX$10,486
El Economista: MEX$1,400 to MEX$7,200
El Financiero: MEX$2,130 to MEX$12,780
El Sol de Mexico: MEX$1,650 to MEX$6,600

Average: (MEX$1,200 + MEX$7,200+ MEX$3,932 + MEX$10,486 + MEX$1,400 + MEX$7,200 +MEX$2,130 + MEX$12,780 + MEX$1,343 + MEX$8,058 + MEX$1,650 + MEX$6,600)/12 = MEX$5,331.58 is the average cost of a newspaper ad in Mexico or USD$277.54.

MAGAZINE
To calculate the average cost of advertising on Mexican magazines, we calculated the average from the price ranges per unit, as we did with the newspapers.

A two-pages center page: MEX$6,380
An eight of a page: MEX$371 and MEX$400
Different sizes: MEX$890 to MEX$4,000
Special size formats: MEX$1,090 to MEX$5,580
Special paper/covers: MEX$4,600 to MEX$14,800
Merca2.0 all sizes: MEX$13 to MEX$152,000

Average: (MEX$6,380 + MEX$371 + MEX$400 +MEX$890 + MEX$4,000 +MEX$1,090 + MEX$5,580 + MEX$4,600 + MEX$14,800 + MEX$13 + MEX$152,000)/11 = MEX$17,284 or USD$899.37 average price including local, national, and specialty magazines. Without specialty magazines the average is MEX$3,465.81 or USD$180.42.

RADIO
To calculate the average advertising cost per unit and package on Mexico's radio, we calculated the average from the different package price ranges and unit ranges.

One-week package (Monday to Sunday) on national radio:


Per unit on local radio:
10 seconds MEX$405
20 seconds MEX$540
30 seconds MEX$810
40 seconds MEX$1,080
60 seconds MEX$1,620

Average unit price: (MEX$405 + MEX$540 + MEX$810 + MEX$1,080 + MEX$1,620)/5 = MEX$891 or USD$46.41.

CINEMA
To calculate the average cost, we used the global prices available as follows:
15-second spot: USD$1,000 to USD$2,000
30-seconds spot: USD$2,000 to USD$3,000
60-second spot: USD$3,000 to USD$4,000

Average: (USD$1,000 + USD$2,000 + USD$2,000 + USD$3,000 + USD$3,000 + USD$4,000)/6 = USD$2,500

OOH
To calculate the average cost, we used the ranges of billboard and MUPIS' prices: (MEX$12,000 + MEX$100,000 + MEX$1,000 + MEX$5,000)/4 = MEX$29,500 or USD$$1,536.06 per unit per one month.

DIGITAL
To calculate the average cost of digital ads, we focused on cost per click (CPC) from Google Adwords and social media.

We determined the CPC of Adwords by calculating the average of the clicks for USD$50 (537 clicks + 657 clicks)/2 = 597 clicks. Then we divided USD$50 between this number / 597 clicks, which gave a total of USD$0.08 per click.
Since Facebook and Instagram charge USD$0.05 per click, we calculated the average of both as follows:
(USD$0.08 + USD$0.05)/2 = USD$0.065 per click.
Sources
Sources

From Part 04
Quotes
  • "As a rule of thumb, radio advertising is charged at a rate of approximately £2 per thousand listeners at one time. To clarify, if a show has 100,000 listeners at 10am, then buying a 30-second spot at that time will cost you £200."
Quotes
  • "The average cost of billboard advertising is around £200 per week for a standard 48-sheet hoarding."
Quotes
  • "The UK average cost-per-click of Google AdWords, on the Search Network, is between £0.66 and £1.32."
Quotes
  • " The average cost per click of an ad on the Display Network is under $0.58."
From Part 06
Quotes
  • "When it comes to the advertising market, Brazil is leading entire Latin America. One of the largest ad markets in the world, the nation has its advertising revenue estimated to reach $12.5 billion U.S. dollars in 2019 – and online advertising is one of the most promising sectors."
  • "During the past year, the average spending of an online customer in e-commerce businesses around Brazil was more than 82 U.S dollars per person."
  • "We were surprised to see that Brazil is in the top five average CPC by country, running at US$0.08, just like Mexico"
Quotes
  • "Even global marketing champions, like Nestlé, Unilever, P&G and Coca-Cola, have surrendered to TV’s dominant role in Brazil’s media mix, allocating 80 to 90 percent of their ad dollars to it."
  • "The problem with playing the TV game in Brazil is that it can gobble up many, many ad dollars. Brazilian TV prices are far above those in other Latin American countries. Brazilian CPMs are almost three times higher than those in Mexico"
Quotes
  • " It is has been estimated by the largest company of digital out-of-home advertising in Brazil that these screens impact more than 14 million people per week."
From Part 08
Quotes
  • "Mobile advertising costs in particular marked 2.8 trillion won, a 26.4 percent increase from the previous year, becoming the most preferred advertising platform for a second year in a row. Cable and IPTV came second at 1.96 trillion won in spending, followed by nonmobile online platforms with 1.59 trillion won, terrestrial TV with 1.44 trillion won and newspapers at fifth with 1.42 trillion won."
From Part 09
Quotes
  • "The cost of radio ads for a campaign that will give you the necessary frequency is around $10,000 if you are advertising on a capital city radio station in Australia. Smaller regional radio stations can range from $2,000 to $5,000 per week."
Quotes
  • "Data from WARC’s Media Costs Database show that out of home cost per thousand (CPM) in key markets is routinely lower than the all media average. Australia and the UK are the only exceptions."
  • "The average CPM for an outdoor ad with an all-adult target audience in key markets is $6.41 compared to an all media average of $12.20 for the same audience."
Quotes
  • "Search Engine Advertising can on average cost between $30-90 per click based on content and location"
  • "Display Advertising can cost between $1 to $6 for Text Ads and upwards of $10 per 3 seconds for video Ads."
From Part 11